Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Links : Discussions :

How do I add a form field?

(Page 1 of 3)
> >
Quote Reply
How do I add a form field?
I am a new Gossamer Links customer, and I should tell you off the bat that I am not a coder or programmer so if you have an answer to my questions, please be very literal. I'm not a dummy and I can find my way around the different areas in the admin panel if you just tell me where to go or look.

My first question is I need to add a field for phone number to the form that users fill out to submit their link. Can someone direct me on where to go to do this and maybe a little guidance?

Second question is on my link form there is a field that says "Title." I need it so say "Company Name" instead so that the user knows exactly what I want there. Same thing with "Contact Name." I need to change that to "Full Name." Can you tell me where to go to change this and how?

Thanks very much!!!
Quote Reply
Re: [therelief] How do I add a form field? In reply to
In Reply To:
My first question is I need to add a field for phone number to the form that users fill out to submit their link. Can someone direct me on where to go to do this and maybe a little guidance?[/quote]

In your admin, goto Database -> Editor -> Links -> Properties (scroll down) -> Add Column

You can click 'click here' for information on what each column means. You might also want to add something like ^\d{3}\d{3}\d{4} in your redex to only allow phone numbers.

Under Build -> User Templates -> add.html you might want to add a text box or so for your new column type.

In Reply To:

Second question is on my link form there is a field that says "Title." I need it so say "Company Name" instead so that the user knows exactly what I want there. Same thing with "Contact Name." I need to change that to "Full Name." Can you tell me where to go to change this and how?[/quote]

Once again, edit the add.html template.

Good luck,

- Jonathan
Quote Reply