Gossamer Forum
Quote Reply
Blog plugin
I'm in the process of writing a basic blog/journal/diary (whatever Crazy) plugin. Here are the features already included:

1) let users set individual entries as private
2) users may optionally disable all public viewing
3) modify/remove entries

if anyone has any feature requests, I'd like to hear 'em.

Philip
------------------
Limecat is not pleased.
Quote Reply
Re: [fuzzy logic] Blog plugin In reply to
Awesome! Here's what I'd love to see:

Trackback and ping (i.e., ping weblogs.com when an entry is posted).

Ability to have both a main blog page for each blog and to assign specific entries to specific Links categories.

Ability to use Gossamer Forum as the backend for comments on blog entries - One of the things that makes forum software a lot more powerful than the commenting module in LSQL (or, for that matter, Movable Type) for building a community is stuff such as e-mail notification of responses to comments.

I'm no programmer, so I can't help with any of this, but I'll be rooting you on! I'm currently building a community site with Drupal, which is a powerful PHP app, but I keep wishing it were as easy to set up and extend as Links SQL or GForum.

Last edited by:

agaffin: Mar 28, 2004, 3:47 PM
Quote Reply
Re: [agaffin] Blog plugin In reply to
Quote:
Trackback and ping

I'm looking into the example implementation provided by MoveableType.

Quote:
Ability to have both a main blog page for each blog and to assign specific entries to specific Links categories.

That should be do-able without much trouble. Should all entries belong to a category, or should a category only be selected if the form is called from inside a category?

Quote:
Ability to use Gossamer Forum as the backend for comments on blog entries
Unfortunately, I don't have GForum so I don't have the means to develope any integration with it. Besides, I'm sort of still learning Links SQL... but maybe in a version 2 release.

I'll post a link to a demo soon.