Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Forum : Discussion :

WWWThreads import?

Quote Reply
WWWThreads import?
I've been using WWWThreads for two years, and ended up with a highly customized version. Now that WWWThreads is sold, I don't know if I will like the changes that may come, so I am considering alternatives, this is the most promising one, as it seems to already have several features that I had hacked for WWWThreads. Therefore my question: Is it possible to import WWWThreads data without too much hassle? Is there an import script?
Gerrit
SpiritBoard
http://www.channeling.net
Quote Reply
Re: [Gerrit] WWWThreads import? In reply to
the posts here came from a wwwthreads system so I am sure there is a script ... I guess a lot is gonna be up to when / if / how GT will release it.

Might be nice if GT makes a slew of import scripts for the most popular BBS systems on the net ...

wwwthreads
ubb
vBulletin
phpBB
phorum
yabb

just to name a few.

openoffice + gimp + sketch ... Smile
Quote Reply
Re: [Gerrit] WWWThreads import? In reply to
Hi,

If you look in admin/tools directory you will see an import.pl script. This currently only supports WWWThreads (as that is what we moved from), but we are willing to do others (the majority of code is already done, it's just a matter of putting in the user specific code).

Cheers,

Alex
--
Gossamer Threads Inc.
Quote Reply
Re: [Alex] WWWThreads import? In reply to
vbulletin!
account deleted
Quote Reply
Alex-

How exactly do you use the import.pl tool to bring in data from WWWThreads?
Quote Reply
Re: [earthgolf] WWWThreads import? In reply to
Hi,

It must be run from shell, but if you type perl import.pl it prints out:

Quote:
Gossamer Forum Importer

Usage:
./import.pl --type={WWWThreads|WWWThreads-PHP|UBB|vBulletin} --source=/path/to/forum [any others of the following options]

Options are:
--clear-database
Clear the Gossamer Forum database before importing data.
--append-data