Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Forum : Development, Plugins and Globals :

Automatic posting via email?

Quote Reply
Automatic posting via email?
Hello,

I am new to Gossamer Forums and have a seemingly simple mod that I would like to implement, I just have to figure out the best way to do so!

Basically, I would like to have an email message parsed and posted to a specific forum automatically upon receipt. I have looked at at Post/Write.pm module, but it seems to be pretty specific to receving a POST method from a browser. I was thinking about stripping out the functionality and creating a new "atomic_post" method, but before I did this I wanted to see if it had already been done.

Any ideas? Does anyone know, off the top of their head, what exactly is involved in posting a message? It looks easy enough, just insert into the db and vioala the magic occurs. I just don't want to miss anything!

BTW, the reason for this is to have a majordomo mailing list automatically feed the forums.

Thanks!
Quote Reply
Re: [Flaaz] Automatic posting via email? In reply to
The Mail Archive plugin accomplishes this. An example would be http://www.gossamer-threads.com/perl/mailarc/gforum.cgi

Adrian

Last edited by:

brewt: Feb 3, 2002, 1:03 AM
Quote Reply
Re: [brewt] Automatic posting via email? In reply to
Currently I am trying MailArc and it seems just the job ... however I am having problems getting the mail actually sent to the forum. We are on a virtual Server and the
| /path/to/admin/Plugins/GForum/Archive.pl --forum=x has to have virtual added after the |.

Despite adding this and running sendmail -bi all I am getting is user virtual not found.

Anyone else on a virtual using this plugin - Alex is looking into it for us but the result may assist others in similar circumstances.

We have accomplished mailing out of a forum into an existing mailing list and I hope to get our Perl guru to post this for all very soon.

Wayne
Quote Reply