Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan SQL : Discussion :

Build select menu from other table

Quote Reply
Build select menu from other table
Can't get my head around this one:

How do you have a select menu automatically generated from another table? I'm trying to associate several contacts (lawyers, realtors, processors, etc.) with each record in a table of real estate deals. I'm keeping the contacts in a separate contacts table, but I want users to be able to choose each of these contacts from several select menus (or, more likely, multiple-select menus) when they add a new record to the first table.

I'm new to SQL, so pardon me if this is a newbie question.
Quote Reply
Re: [Halito] Build select menu from other table In reply to
You might add a new global which returns a select tag (or any HTMLs) like the example below:

Code:
sub {
my $tags = shift;
my $table = $DB->table('contacts');
my $sth = $table->select (['Column1', 'Column2']);
my $output = '<select name=select_name multiple>';
while (my $row = $sth->fetchrow_hashref) {
$output .= '<option value='.$row->{Column1}.'>'.$row->{Column2}.'</option>';

}
$output .= '</select>';

return $output;
}

Last edited by:

jean: Mar 1, 2002, 11:02 AM
Quote Reply
Re: [jean] Build select menu from other table In reply to
Thanks for the quick reply! I modified your subroutine by changing your references to Column1 and Column2 to First_name and Last_name, which correspond to column names in my contacts table. I wasn't sure where I should stick this subroutine, so I put it in HTML.pm and I named it sub build_contact_select. Then, in one of my templates (add_form.html), I tried calling the new subroutine with the following command:

<%Dbsql::HTML::build_contact_select%>

But the browser displays the following text in the place where the select menu should appear:

Error: Unable to load module: Dbsql::HTML. Reason:
Error: No subroutine 'Dbsql::HTML::build_contact_select' in 'Dbsql/HTML.pm',