Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Installation :

Using multiple database, where to start?

Quote Reply
Using multiple database, where to start?
I have the regular default database where people post jobs and would like to add an extra database for people to submit registration type information like address, phone, etc. that is not to be viewed by the public and also another dbman database where people can post resumes and can be viewed by the public. All will require unique fields. 3 dbmans and not sure where to start. The main default db is almost complete and haven't started the other 2.. Is there a tutorial anywhere on here or a great thread that will point me in the right direction? I don't know the difficulty involved> I am a beginner in Perl... Where should I turn?
Quote Reply
Re: Using multiple database, where to start? In reply to
Hi wave3,

I'm a hack at this too, just picking up Perl as I use scripts like this one. But I have somehow gotten about 5 or 6 databases all running off of the core dbman engine. Here's how:

Once I have one set up the way I like it, then I copy the files I need to be unique and specify them as a whole new set:

- blah.cfg
- blah.db
- blah.pass
- blah.count
- blah.log
- blah_html.pl

But I can keep just one copy of db.cgi. From there, you just need to modify blah.cfg to point to all the right components and then start modifying it all! And if you share the same password info, you can share that file too. Or the log, if you like.

In one case I have two configurations viewing the same db data -- one brief set of views for the public, and one detailed set for my editors. Same passwd, same log, same count. Different .cfg and html.pl files though.

Once you have more than one set up, just remember to point your URLs appropriately:

http://www.xxx.edu/dbman/db.cgi <-- default db
http://www.xxx.edu/dbman/db.cgi?db=blah <-- blah db
http://www.xxx.edu/dbman/db.cgi?db=foo <-- foo db

Hope this helps,

Neal