Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Discussions :

how to search for keywords, only if field2=active?

Quote Reply
how to search for keywords, only if field2=active?
I am just starting to learn DBMan so I can add a public search function for a pre-existing database.

I am currently using a query like:
http://mydomain.com/cgi-bin/db.cgi?db=default&keyword=kayak&view_records=View+Records which works great, except that I need to only return results which have status=active (field 2 in the db is named status, and sites are either active or inactive. I don't want the inactive sites showing up in the search results as these have not been validated yet.)

How can this be done?

P.S. I am searching by keywords because I need to search the Title, Description, and URL fields from one public search form field. Thanks.

Quote Reply
Re: how to search for keywords, only if field2=active? In reply to
Quick way:

Wrap your entire record code in html_record in an if statement. eg:

if (($rec{'Validated'} eq 'Yes') || $per_admin) {
...HTML for record...
}

Longer way:

Get the validate MOD. It's a MOD written by JPDeni for DBMan which allows an admin to approve newly added (and optionaly, mofified) records to the database. Un-Validated records are kept hidden until validated, and it inlcudes a mail-out feature which emails the user to tell them their record has either been validated or denied.

Cheers,

- Mark

Astro-Boy!!
http://www.zip.com.au/~astroboy/
Quote Reply
Re: Quick way

I've now changed the sub build_html_record in db.cgi to:
Code:
sub build_html_record {
# --------------------------------------------------------
# Builds a record based on the config information.
#

if (($rec{'Status'} eq 'active') || $per_admin) {
my (%rec) = @_;
my ($output, $field);

$output = "<p><table border=0 width=450>";
foreach $field (@db_cols) {
next if ($db_form_len{$field} == -1);
$output .= qq~<tr><td align=right valign=top width=20%><$font>$field:</font></td>