Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Discussions :

confused, but eager!

Quote Reply
confused, but eager!
I just recently found dbman and am intrigued as to how I can integrate it into a site I am building for a client.

What I'd like to do is to use it as a back end for adding articles to a site. In reality, it is a small site. We will start out with 3-5 articles, and hopefully add 2-4 articles a month.

What I'd like to do is create a form that my client would use to "add" an article to the db. There he can fill out the information of: Author, Volume number, photo upload, etc. The text could get kinds longish (magazine article length). I would expect the public to not have access to adding to the db, just viewing, searching etc.

IS DBman a good tool to use for this? DBmanMYSQL is out of the question, btw (budget)

If so, could someone stear me in the right direction for making this happen? I am new to databases and dbman. :) Thanks.

Quote Reply
Re: confused, but eager! In reply to
In Reply To:
IS DBman a good tool to use for this?
Yes...and since your database will be relatively small due to infrequent postings, then you don't really need the DBMAN SQL version.

In Reply To:
If so, could someone stear me in the right direction for making this happen?
As a starting point to see what DBMAN can do...refer to the NewsMan mod listed in the DBMAN -> Modifications section of the Resources section.

Regards,

Eliot Lee
Quote Reply
Thanks AnthroRules,

I am wondering... how many articles can it handle? I have read that db's larger than 1 mb it tends to choke. Also, If we have images in our articles...wouldn't that make the database choke with 2 dozen images & articles?

And is ther any way of doing this (using dbman as an article back-end) without adding a hack?

Anyone have a site that you use dbman like this?

Quote Reply