Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Discussions :

What is the capacity?

Quote Reply
What is the capacity?
I m going to make some more than 200,000 enteries in the DBMan. Is it reliable for such huge database or should I go For SQL version?

What's your experience?
Quote Reply
Re: [zeshan] What is the capacity? In reply to
200,000 is about 198,000 too many for the flatfile version...you should definitely go for DBMAN SQL
Quote Reply
Re: [Paul] What is the capacity? In reply to
I just had to chuckle at that..

Gene
"The older I get, the more I admire competence, just simple competence in any field from adultery to zoology."
Quote Reply
Re: [esm] What is the capacity? In reply to
I am using dbman on a 5,000 line database with about 6 fields and about 500KB in size without any problems. Queries are completed in a split second.
Quote Reply
Re: [idg-usa] What is the capacity? In reply to
while I have no real knowledge of this, I suspect that ultimately the limit of DBMan/Links 2 is factor of both the number of links AND the size of the file and maybe to a lesser degree the number of fields.

If you have 5,000 records and a filesize of 200K, things may be fine. Or maybe 500 records with 2,000k filesize would be OK. But maybe 5,000 records at 2,000k would cause DBMan/Links to freeze.

If you have 5000/500k with 6 fields, you have about 17 characters per field. I have almost 450k in 672 records. On that basis, if I had 5,000 records, I would have about 3,348k ( over 3 million in size ) or almost 7 times the size of a 500k file.

A computer scientist friend of mine tells me that the "flat file" structure of DBMan/Links is inherently inefficient and will eventually ( he said soon ) reach a limit of usability which is much less than say using something like mySQL.

But hey, I'm am glad to see a system with 5,000 records. Now if can find one with a file size of 3,000k...!

Gene