Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Customization :

Boolean MOD cross-fields fix?

Quote Reply
Boolean MOD cross-fields fix?
I think I might have a solution to those who are having problems with the Boolean MOD and the ability to search for "AND" across fields.

As I understand it, the MOD only allows people to find things like "cats AND dogs" if "cats / dogs" appears in the same field. It would not find something like Field1=Cat and Field2=Dog because it doesn't search across fields (please let me know if this has been fixed).

Anyway, since I have a very real need for a search engine that can go across fields with an AND (I don't really care about OR or anything else), I've put together a rather simple modification (I think).

I should note here one important thing--I have never programmed in PERL before. I'm not a script genius or anything. I just bought the Perl Camel book last night and went through the db.cgi script line by line looking up everything I didn't understand (kind of like reading a foreign newspaper with a dictionary--very slow).

Anyway, the suggestions offered in the BOOLEAN thread were helpful, that of smushing all fields into one line and then searching that line for the data. But in reading through the code, I found that the dbman program split the LINE into several different VALUES and then searched the VALUES against the keyword input. I just decided to skip that step.

Here's what the db.cgi file says "out of the box"

# Now we go through the database and do the actual searching.
# First figure out which records we want:
$first = ($maxhits * ($nh - 1));
$last = $first + $maxhits - 1;

open (DB, "<$db_file_name") or &cgierr("error in search. unable to open
database: $db_file_name.\nReason: $!");
if ($db_use_flock) { flock(DB, 1); }
LINE: while (<DB>) {
(/^#/) and next LINE; # Skip comment Lines.
(/^\s*$/) and next LINE; # Skip blank lines.
$line = $_; chomp ($line); # Remove trailing new line.
@values = &split_decode($line);