Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Customization :

apostrophes

Quote Reply
apostrophes
I'm not too good with programming, so I hope someone can explain to me in simple terms what I should do.

In default.cfg, for the definition of the field names, there is this 'default' field. As far as I understood it, it means that whatever is entered there will be entered or selected as a default when creating a new form.

I have a field with checkboxes, and I want multiple checkboxes to be checked. Is this possible? And if so, is it possible to have an apostrophe in one of the names? I'm guessing not, but I can't figure out a way around it. In the definition of the checkbox fields I used double quotes ("), so I could enter the apostrophe in the name without problems. However, when I try to use double quotes for the 'default' setting, and then the apostrophe inside these double quotes, it doesn't work. The fields are not checked when I create a new form.

Can anyone help?
Quote Reply
Re: [alhena] apostrophes In reply to
Checkboxes are, by nature, not multiple select items. They are an "on/off" switch. Either it is or it isn't. You'll need to make a field for each of your checkbox fields.

The default value must be within a single quote when defining it within the field value such as:

'Graphic' => [20,'alpha',0,3,0,'','Yes'],

If you need to add an apostrophe where you actually define the values of your checkboxes within:

%db_checkbox_fields =

then use a / before the apostrophe. for instance if you wanted to use alhena's you could enter it as alhena/'s

If that doesn't solve your problem, please check the tutorial on JPDeni's web site http://jpdeni.com/dbman/ or check the FAQ noted below under the section "Fields".

Unoffical DBMan FAQ

http://creativecomputingweb.com/dbman/index.shtml/
Quote Reply
Re: [LoisC] apostrophes In reply to