Gossamer Forum
Quote Reply
Hotmail * TM
Just a little word of advice for gossamer-threads.....

I am not an expert on this but have had first hand experience on this topic.
I just wanted to let you guys know that sometimes you have to watch what you say on your web sites and even more because you design programs.

On the Products page you have this listed for your new Gossamer Mail

"Gossamer Mail is a web based email program that allows you to offer your visitors free email addresses just like Hotmail™. "

When you say "Just like Hotmail" you may be looking for trouble.
You are comparing your product with MSN's Hotmail and thats like Pepsi saying "Pepsi is just like Coke" and i am sure that Coke would act on that.

I myself made the mistake of writing something like that and ended up with a letter from a lawyer and a lot of telephone calls.

I dont want to see this site get into any trouble and i think that it is cool that programmers are building competitive programs but just BECARFUL on what you say when describing your program.
I am not sure if you have violated any copywrite with Hotmail but look into it or change the content of that blurb.

(thats just my experience and though!)

Keep up these great forums and its cool to see another Canadian out there, and in BC too. I am in Abby right now farting around on my snowboard for a few months at Mt Baker and this place ROCKS !!!

Quote Reply
Re: Hotmail * TM In reply to
There is a Brand-X law that allows fair product comparason and contrasting.

In Reply To:
When you say "Just like Hotmail" you may be looking for trouble.
You are comparing your product with MSN's Hotmail and thats like Pepsi saying "Pepsi is just like Coke" and i am sure that Coke would act on that.
To any letter I would reply -- by adding "Only Better" and then be in full compliance. You could claim you were better because you could be installed on your own server for a low cost.

Pepsi and Coke challenge each other all the time.

PUGDOG®