Gossamer Forum
Home : General : Perl Programming :

link/result-page problem. Help please!!

Quote Reply
link/result-page problem. Help please!!
I have yet another problem. I'm new to perl, so if you all could bare with me and help me out I would appreciate it. :)

So I have a table with a column full of regular <a> HTML link tabs, each referencing to a different website. So what I'd like to do is the following:

Once the user clicks on one of the links, I'd like to take the source code of the resulting page make a few changes and then display the new page with the slightly different source code.

I figured out how to retreive a source code,and i definately know how to make changes to it using regular expressions. But I don't know how to go around doing the described above. I hope it's clear. I'm not sure whether it's a perl or HTML problem.

Thank you soooo much!
Quote Reply
Re: [q8tygirl] link/result-page problem. Help please!! In reply to
Hi. You need to structure it something like;

Code:
script.cgi > SELECT * FROM TABLE LIMIT 10
script.cgi?nh=2 > SELECT * FROM TABLE LIMIT 20,10
script.cgi?nh=3 > SELECT * FROM TABLE LIMIT 30,10

I use something similar in my scripts to work out the offset;

Code:
if ($page == 1) {
$start = $page * $per_page - $per_page + 1; # i.e page 1 * 5 - 5 = 0
$end = $page * $per_page; # i.e page 1 * 5 + 1 = 6
} else {
$start = $page * $per_page - ($per_page - 1); # i.e page 2, 2 * 5 - (5 - 1) =
$end = $page * $per_page; # i.e page 2 * 5 = 5
}

Its far from perfect, but it seems to do the job.

(its a lot simpler if you are doing a nice easy amount per page, i.e 10. Its when you start doing stuff like 15,25, etc, that it is a little more complex).

Hope that helps.

Cheers

Andy (mod)
andy@ultranerds.co.uk
Want to give me something back for my help? Please see my Amazon Wish List
GLinks ULTRA Package | GLinks ULTRA Package PRO