Gossamer Forum
Home : General : Perl Programming :

Dynamic pages using templates?

Quote Reply
Dynamic pages using templates?
This should be an easy one for you folks, but it's stumped this perl/cgi novice.

Consider a songwriter's website with 50 lyrics pages, each containing a single song. Rather than building and maintaining these 50 near-identical pages, I'd like to be able to design a single template file with placeholders (e.g. <!!title> ) where the data fields should go.

A source file with some sort of delimited fields (e.g. new lines, blank lines, whatever) would contain the data (text/HTML), which would replace the placeholders in the template when a user requested a particular page.

I believe the template and the data would be read into the script, and a merged document would be written out. Problem is, I have very little knowledge of perl/cgi and do not know how to accomplish this feat.

If anyone could provide help and/or some sample code I'd be most grateful.
Quote Reply
Re: Dynamic pages using templates? In reply to
Hiya,

Well, what you want to do *is* possible, but it's kind of doing the long way round. All you really have to do is modify your html.pl to deliver each record as a page.

Carol (JPDeni) has courteously made a wee add-on available which lets you view a short and long display of records. The first gives you the search results, and each short record in the search results then links you to the full display for the record.

I think this would be the easiest way of doing it. I created one too, but Carol's is probably tidier! Smile

Here's Carol's add-on:

www.drizzle.com/~hall/dbmod/short.txt

And here's my version of it, which might give you an idea of how it can be used:

irishfineart.com/home/

Just click on "List" All or "Search" to view the short display, and follow one of the associated links to see the long display. In fact try the search function, I'm kinda proud of it! Smile

Hope this is what you're looking for,
adam
Quote Reply