Gossamer Forum
Home : General : Databases and SQL :

Help with printing to file...

Quote Reply
Help with printing to file...
I am very new to perl and mysql, but I have inherited an online voting program at my college that was written by a student last year. I can telnet into the database and view the tables I need to find out election results, but I think that there must be a way I can print these tables to a file and either convert it to an Exel or Access table (or at least have the information in a .txt file). Is there anything I can add to my

select * from votes;

command to get it to print to a file?

A second question I have is regarding the query of those tables. We have a list of candidates, votes, and logins that we keep. How could I query for people who voted for person A for office A, AND person B for office B. (as opposed to everyone who voted for every office, or people who only voted for a specific office or for a specific person).

Thanks in advance.
Quote Reply
Re: [Pupator] Help with printing to file... In reply to
Easiest thing to do may be to get something like mysqlman, perlmyadmin, phpmyadmin, all of which are cgis that make it very easy to handle your mysql dataases.

From there, there are ways of getting the data dumped quite easily into a file that can be loaded into Excel or Access. (CSV, TAB-delimieted, etc)

The second question is tricker, you may need to do a table join and a sneaky sum trick.

Last edited by:

Aki: Sep 12, 2002, 4:18 PM
Quote Reply
Re: [Pupator] Help with printing to file... In reply to
As AKI alluded to, do you have FK constraints between those tables???

Example:

PersonID
VotesID
OfficeID

If you have FK relations between your tables, then you could join them by those FK and then get the count that you are looking for.
========================================
Buh Bye!

Cheers,
Me
Quote Reply
Re: [Stealth] Help with printing to file... In reply to