Gossamer Forum
Home : General : Chit Chat :

"Task" Management

Quote Reply
"Task" Management
I'm in need of some advice or opinions on various programs.

I'm looking for a group Task Manager program. At the moment, we're running MS Outlook on a network of around 7 PCs. This has the ability to share "tasks" and can be useful when trying to manage a project which involves a number of people.

However, I want to try and move away from Outlook and to a dedicated program, if possible.

Does anyone have any ideas or experiences with project management or task management? What programs have you used to keep everything in order?

Please note: I am not looking for Project Management software, ie timesheets, cost analysis etc. - I am simply looking for a good solid tool for communicating and sharing tasks, responsibilites etc.

Cheers

- wil

Last edited by:

Wil: Jan 8, 2002, 6:35 AM
Quote Reply
Re: [Wil] "Task" Management In reply to
I have over 10 years experience in juggling multiple projects, employees, clients, budgets, etc., and believe it or not, I found that paper must play an important role in task/project management. Use the electronic end to update statuses and inform of changes/revisions, but every project should begin with a written form (can you say "CYA").

"Face to face" meetings are important for accountability reasons (peer pressure). It makes it harder to save something to the last minute when you know on every Tuesday your going to have to sit in front of everyone and explain your status.

Email should be used for updating and informing, not for group discussion (hence the face-to-face). The reason for this is that if you email 10 people and all 10 people email each other, suddenly you have 100 emails to wade through, each branching off into a different direction of discussion.

What kind of projects in general do you have to deal with?

Quote Reply
Re: [Watts] "Task" Management In reply to
Hi

That's why I opted out of Email.