
cliff at foresitesoftware
Apr 23, 2008, 11:29 AM
Views: 3699
Permalink
|
|
Would SRS solve this problem?
|
|
I need help solving a situation where a sender's message is being rejected after going through a legitimate e-mail spam/virus filtering service. Here is the 'real-world' example: Sender is someone at kroll.com. kroll.com's TXT record is: "v=spf1 redirect=krollworldwide.com" krollworldwide.com has this: "v=spf1 ip4:208.71.237.0/24 ip4:193.37.237.0/24 ip4:207.12.234.129 ip4:208.71.238.38 ip4:217.77.181.100 ip4:204.13.136.221 -all" The recipient is someone at platecoinc.com. The MX record for platecoinc.com has mail going to server24.appriver.com AppRiver is a spam/virus filtering company. When they have finished checking for spam and viruses, mail is sent to 'mail.wegtech.com', which is where the e-mail mailboxes for platecoinc.com are hosted. When AppRiver attempts to pass along the 'clean' message from sender [at] kroll to recip [at] platecoinc, the mail server (mail.wegtech.com) won't accept it based on SPF. I discussed this with AppRiver a bit and they assure me that "we do not 're-write the sender address from SPF checks.'" Here's what shows up in AppRiver's log files: ------------------------- 4/21/2008 8:18:00 AM SERVER25B sender [at] kroll RE: paperless billing To: recip [at] platecoinc IP: 208.71.237.35 VALID FROM UNITED STATES 08:18:02.467 4 SMTP-520276(mail.wegtech.com:25) Connected. SIZE AUTH 08:18:02.467 4 SMTP-520276(mail.wegtech.com:25) [286452055] sending 08:18:02.467 4 SMTP-520276(mail.wegtech.com:25) cmd: MAIL FROM:<sender [at] kroll> SIZE=8372 08:18:02.748 4 SMTP-520276(mail.wegtech.com:25) rsp: 250 ok 08:18:02.748 4 SMTP-520276(mail.wegtech.com:25) cmd: RCPT TO:<recip [at] platecoinc> 08:18:02.780 4 SMTP-520276(mail.wegtech.com:25) rsp: 553 See http://spf.pobox.com/why.html?sender=sender%40kroll.com&ip=207.97.229.125&receiver=mail.powerwebhost.net (#5.7.1) 08:18:02.780 1 DEQUEUER [286452055] SMTP(mail.wegtech.com:25)recip [at] platecoinc failed: host mail.wegtech.com:25 says:\r\n 553 See http://spf.pobox.com/why.html?sender=sender%40kroll.com&ip=207.97.229.125&receiver=mail.powerwebhost.net (#5.7.1) ------------------------- My question is: Who is at fault and what needs to be done to correct the situation? Is SRS the answer? How/where would SRS be applied in this case? -- Cliff Nieuwenhuis President Foresite Software LLC www.foresitesoftware.com (608)356-0286 Foresite Software LLC is an IBM Business Partner ------------------------------------------- Sender Policy Framework: http://www.openspf.org Modify Your Subscription: http://www.listbox.com/member/ Archives: http://www.listbox.com/member/archive/1129/=now RSS Feed: http://www.listbox.com/member/archive/rss/1129/ Powered by Listbox: http://www.listbox.com
|