
justin at blasthosting
Jul 11, 2004, 11:41 PM
Post #4 of 5
(884 views)
Permalink
|
It looks like the spf acl was in the RCPT section (as the exim doc said to place for testing, but I never removed it). Thank you for making me investigate my configuration further. Justin Bachus > -----Original Message----- > From: Justin Bachus [mailto:justin [at] blasthosting] > Sent: Monday, July 12, 2004 1:30 AM > To: spf-help [at] v2 > Subject: RE: [spf-help] SPF for Email Service Providers > > > -----Original Message----- > > From: Jeffrey Goldberg [mailto:jeffrey [at] goldmark] > > Sent: Monday, July 12, 2004 12:43 AM > > To: spf-help [at] v2 > > Subject: Re: [spf-help] SPF for Email Service Providers > > > > On Sun, 11 Jul 2004, Justin Bachus wrote: > > > > > I am a web hosting provider who also provides email to my customers (a > > very > > > common situation). I would like to publish SPF records for the > domains > > I > > > host, but have been unable to do so in this situation. I provide an > > SMTP > > > server for clients to use to send mail (with SMTP AUTH of course). > All > > > email will be coming from this server for the domains I host. > > > > Are you certain that none of your customers will be mailing via their > ASPs > > mail-hubs? That is the typical practice of most users, > > There may be some that do this currently, but it would not be difficult to > have them use our SMTP servers. > > > > > > Unfortunately, when I placed SPF records on these domains with the IP > of > > my > > > SMTP server, mail was denied to be sent. > > > > I suspect that this is because not all mail was going via your server. > > > > Could you quote an actual bounce message? That would help a great deal. > > > Your message did not reach some or all of the intended recipients. > > Subject: test > Sent: 7/12/2004 1:14 AM > > The following recipient(s) could not be reached: > > 'justin [at] hot' on 7/12/2004 1:14 AM > 550 Please see > http://spf.pobox.com/why.html?sender=justin%40blasthosting.com&ip=66.69.22 > 5. > 10&receiver=hercules.epicserver.com > > Sending from justin [at] blasthosting from my local computer with a "v=spf1 > a > mx ptr ip4:66.219.52.196 -all" SPF record to the web hosting server > running > exim with the SPF patch. Headers for successful mails are (without > published SPF records): > > Return-path: <justin [at] blasthosting> > Received: from ms-mta-03 (ms-mta-03-smtp.texas.rr.com [10.93.38.33]) > by ms-mss-02.texas.rr.com > (iPlanet Messaging Server 5.2 HotFix 1.21 (built Sep 8 2003)) > with ESMTP id <0I0Q00BLZ6YDLN [at] ms-mss-02> for > justin [at] hot; > Mon, 12 Jul 2004 01:20:37 -0500 (CDT) > Received: from txmx05.mgw.rr.com (txmx05.mgw.rr.com [24.93.41.204]) > by ms-mta-03.texas.rr.com > (iPlanet Messaging Server 5.2 HotFix 1.21 (built Sep 8 2003)) > with ESMTP id <0I0Q002ZQ6YDK7 [at] ms-mta-03> for > justin [at] hot > (ORCPT justin [at] hot); Mon, 12 Jul 2004 01:20:37 -0500 (CDT) > Received: from hercules.epicserver.com > (hercules.epicserver.com [66.219.52.196]) by txmx05.mgw.rr.com > (8.12.10/8.12.8) with ESMTP id i6C6KXPt015438 for <justin [at] hot>; > Mon, > 12 Jul 2004 02:20:34 -0400 (EDT) > Received: from cs6669225-10.austin.rr.com ([66.69.225.10] > helo=jblaptop00105) > by hercules.epicserver.com with asmtp (Exim 4.32; FreeBSD) > id 1BjuB5-000IwR-C6 for justin [at] hot; Mon, 12 Jul 2004 > 01:20:39 -0500 > Date: Mon, 12 Jul 2004 01:20:32 -0500 > From: justin [at] blasthosting > Subject: test > To: justin [at] hot > Message-id: <!~!AAAAAFrraV7Q/KpLl8cLcjfrSuEkKzYA [at] blasthosting> > MIME-version: 1.0 > > > > > > > Apparently, SPF aware mail servers > > > are looking at the furthest Received: header to determine whether a > user > > is > > > authorized to send from that domain. > > > > I don't rule out the possibility that a few sites are doing something > like > > that, but that is far from the normal behavior. > > > > > Since mail is sent from the user's > > > computer to the mail server, the IP address of the user's computer is > > > checked against the SPF record. > > > > If the mail is going from the user's computer to your server and then to > > the recipient's system then SPF checks would not be checking the IP of > the > > user's computer. But, if as I suspect, the mail is going from the > user's > > computer to the user's ISP's mailhub to the recipients system, then SPF > > will not find the ISP's mailhub authorized for the domain. > > > > > Is there any way to specify SPF records in the domains I host to > > > check not the user's IP address, but the address of the smtp server > the > > mail > > > is coming from? Is this something that could be considered? I would > > > appreciate any feedback on the topic. > > > > SPF already does what you ask. Appearently you have some configuration > > error (I outlined one possible misdesign, but that is just speculation). > > If you posted details (the records, and the bounce message) people here > > could be of more help. > > Let me know if any other information would be helpful. Maybe the patch > provided for exim produces non-standard behavior. Maybe the SPF ACL > disagrees with other ACLs active in my configuration. I have tried > sending > to other hosts that enforce SPF on their incoming mail and those also > fail. > One thing that does seem suspicious, however, is that the rejected > response > is coming from my SMTP server itself. I will look into that a little > further, but I have installed the default settings from the documentation > for the exim module. Any pointers as to where the error might be or other > ways to diagnose the problem would be helpful. > > > > -j > > > > > > -- > > Jeffrey Goldberg > http://www.goldmark.org/jeff/ > > Relativism is the triumph of authority over truth, convention over > > justice > > Hate spam? Boycott MCI! http://www.goldmark.org/jeff/anti-spam/mci/ > > > > ------- > > Archives at http://archives.listbox.com/spf-help/current/ > > Donate! http://spf.pobox.com/donations.html > > To unsubscribe, change your address, or temporarily deactivate your > > subscription, > > please go to http://v2.listbox.com/member/?listname=spf- > > help [at] v2 > > > ------- > Archives at http://archives.listbox.com/spf-help/current/ > Donate! http://spf.pobox.com/donations.html > To unsubscribe, change your address, or temporarily deactivate your > subscription, > please go to http://v2.listbox.com/member/?listname=spf- > help [at] v2 ------- Archives at http://archives.listbox.com/spf-help/current/ Donate! http://spf.pobox.com/donations.html To unsubscribe, change your address, or temporarily deactivate your subscription, please go to http://v2.listbox.com/member/?listname=spf-help [at] v2
|