
spfdiscuss at alandoherty
Nov 24, 2009, 7:54 AM
Post #1 of 4
(1064 views)
Permalink
|
|
Re: spf wizard reports no ip address for domain‏
|
|
At 14:57 24/11/2009 Tuesday, nahiable [at] africanexpatsradio wrote: >Sorry for the late response i had to go on a shot trip. Anyway I send this mail from africanexpatsradio.com. Hope you are able to help. > >At 14:10 19/11/2009 Thursday, Napoleon Ahiable wrote: > >>I have a registered and hosted domain africanexpatsradio.com. However when i tried to create an spf record the wizard repoted that africanexpatsradio.com does not have an IP address. i guess in future i will explicitly list the options in preferential order {as you explaining in detail how your users send from africanexpatsradio.com address's is always preferred to us guessing from looking at your emails to us} but currently i see you seem to be sending from 217.37.29.17 so assuming this is the only you/your-provider you will use to send your email from and assuming this ip is static {i use you/your-provider as i cannot possibly determine if you are the provider or do you buy service from this unprofessionally setup outfit} this host has a lot of negative reputation markers so even if your SPF is is perfect its unlikely to be checked by all, many will refuse on your/your-providers poor server setup Received: from host217-37-29-17.in-addr.btopenworld.com ([217.37.29.17] helo=pmct1.gateway.2wire.net) by flatsvr.alandoherty.net with esmtp (Exim 4.69) (envelope-from <nahiable [at] africanexpatsradio>) id 1NCwqO-0004p4-AD for spfdiscuss [at] alandoherty; Tue, 24 Nov 2009 14:59:06 +0000 Received: by pmct1.gateway.2wire.net (Postfix, from userid 0) id 6F40D76220B; Tue, 24 Nov 2009 14:57:18 +0000 (GMT) ok the details A the FQRDNS record of your/your-providers host is generic thus refused by many host217-37-29-17.in-addr.btopenworld.com == 217.37.29.17 {suggested fix set it to xxxxxx.your/your-providers-domain where xxxxxx is a name dedicated to ptr use and pointed at 217.37.29.17 also} {eg1 pmct-01.gateway.2wire.net} B the helo/ehlo identity used by you/your-provider is non-existant , thus refused by most isps/spamfilters for RFC non-compliance {suggested fix set it to yyyyyy.your/your-providers-domain where yyyyyy is a name dedicated to helo/ehlo use and pointed at 217.37.29.17 also} {eg1 pmct1.gateway.2wire.net, ie just setup the helo in dns} C assuming steps A and B completed by you/your-provider host/domain SPF-record xxxxxx.your/your-providers-domain "v=spf1 -all" yyyyyy.your/your-providers-domain "v=spf1 A -all" africanexpatsradio.com "v=spf1 A:yyyyyy.your/your-providers-domain -all" > >from this I can only surmise that africanexpatsradio.com. was filled in as the wrong answer to one of the questions that the wizard asked {one requiring a hostname or ip} > >so lets not use the wizard > >and either let us guess/determine how you send mail from africanexpatsradio.com. >by you sending an email from that domain to either myself or the list > >or by you explaining how you send mail from africanexpatsradio.com. here. >and we can then show you how to construct an SPF record that reflects these details ------------------------------------------- Sender Policy Framework: http://www.openspf.org [http://www.openspf.org] Modify Your Subscription: http://www.listbox.com/member/ [http://www.listbox.com/member/] Archives: https://www.listbox.com/member/archive/1020/=now RSS Feed: https://www.listbox.com/member/archive/rss/1020/ Powered by Listbox: http://www.listbox.com
|