
rob.macgregor at gmail
Nov 20, 2009, 10:16 AM
Post #2 of 4
(839 views)
Permalink
|
On Fri, Nov 20, 2009 at 18:03, Tim Kloos <tkloos [at] ncdcorp> wrote: > I received an email the other day from support [at] sample (and this was > clearly spoofed). I put in my spamassassin local.cf file the following > line: > whitelist_from_spf support [at] sample > and restarted spamassassin. > Yet, the following day, I still received an email from support [at] sample > that was again clearly a spoof. Any idea what I am doing wrong? Well, starting with the fact that we don't know your real domain so we can't check the SPF record - no. Further, without the headers of the problem email it's hard to say why it got through. Also, AFAIK the whitelist settings in SpamAssassin are used to allow emails through filtering (they add 100 to the score). Note too that, as covered in the FAQ, SPF is not an anti-spam mechanism - it's an anti-forgery one. -- Please keep list traffic on the list. Rob MacGregor Whoever fights monsters should see to it that in the process he doesn't become a monster. Friedrich Nietzsche ------------------------------------------- Sender Policy Framework: http://www.openspf.org [http://www.openspf.org] Modify Your Subscription: http://www.listbox.com/member/ [http://www.listbox.com/member/] Archives: https://www.listbox.com/member/archive/1020/=now RSS Feed: https://www.listbox.com/member/archive/rss/1020/ Powered by Listbox: http://www.listbox.com
|