
spfdiscuss at alandoherty
Oct 19, 2009, 1:20 PM
Post #10 of 11
(2297 views)
Permalink
|
At 20:49 19/10/2009 Monday, Wade wrote: >Hi Alan, et al on this list, > >The reason that mail seems to have come from a Spamarrest server >is because that's wherein I have subscribe to this list and thus I >posted my query from within Spamarrest. I'm also answering this >from within Spamarrest so please disregard the transcript of this >mail. > >I just did a test to myself; from my Outlook Express, not from >within Spamarrest. I use my domain's mail server for outbound and >Spamarrest for inbound to scrub virii and for whitelist >filtering. > >Below is a cut-paste of the transcript of the test I just sent to >myself. As you can see, ATT (formerly Bellsouth) is failing SPF. >This tells me I need to "specify" them as a legit sender. The SPF >is being caused by an ATT/Bellsouth IP#. no you are testing for spf mail sent from a mail client {your server is misconfigured it should not require spf from mail clients, only authentication} send a mail to anyone else via your server {even me}* {anywhere else == somewhere your server would have to forward to via smtp following mx records not another mailbox on the same server} and we can tell you does your mail pass spf when it arrives here mail between client<>server {esmtpa authentiacated smtp via port 587, or some smtp-auth workaround kludge on port25} nothing to do with SPF {if spf checks are done server is mis-configured} mail between server<>server [e]smtp on port 25 {the only place SPF is designed to be used} >As I mentioned before, I am currently using the #s that ATT tech >support gave me to put into my local machine's TCP network setting >to keep ATT from assigning a random IP# to my local router at >bootup. ATT no longer assigns a random IP but I still get failed >du to some other ATT IP#, in this case it is 65.11.145.117, as >indicated below. > >ATT has told me about 3 times now that even though my mail is >being sent from my domain's mail server I still need to include >ATT in my SPF record. att are totally without clue, or mis-understanding >Return-path: <wsmith [at] artistdomain> >Envelope-to: wsmith [at] artistdomain >Delivery-date: Mon, 19 Oct 2009 15:01:42 -0400 >Received: from adsl-11-145-117.mia.bellsouth.net ([65.11.145.117] >helo=organicc5rdsgk) > by blue.olm.net with esmtpa (Exim 4.69) > (envelope-from <wsmith [at] artistdomain>) > id 1MzxUE-0008Ey-OO > for wsmith [at] artistdomain; Mon, 19 Oct 2009 15:01:42 -0400 >Message-ID: <38CA78CFA9B74A93A9D2121B8B877E8F [at] organicc5rdsg> >From: "artistdomain" <wsmith [at] artistdomain> >To: "artistdomain" <wsmith [at] artistdomain> >Subject: test >Date: Mon, 19 Oct 2009 15:01:45 -0400 >MIME-Version: 1.0 >Content-Type: multipart/alternative; > boundary="----=_NextPart_000_00AD_01CA50CD.12F90D70" >X-Priority: 3 >X-MSMail-Priority: Normal >X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2900.3311 >X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2900.3311 >X-SA-Poll-Id: 1255978924620..UID685-1254077930..1..1255978905000 >X-SA-USERIDNR: 3467002 >Received-SPF: fail(artistdomain.net: domain of > artistdomain.net does not designate 65.11.145.117 as permitted >sender) > > > > >Wade Smith >Artistdomain.net > > >On Mon Oct 19 13:35:23 CDT 2009, alan <spfdiscuss [at] alandoherty> >wrote: > >| >| > >| > >| >Surely I must be missing something here. >| >| yes the only IP needing an spf is the server sending your mail >out >| >| THE ONE TALKING SMTP TO RECIEVERS >| >| so the client {and its ip} you use to submit mail to that server >is irrelevant >| >| your mail this time came from smtp01.spamarrest.com but likely >could come from several ip's within spamarrest.com they should be >able to tell you how to setup spf for their ip's >| >| so it is their ip's that you used to send email and need to >include within your domains SPF record >| >| >| >| ------------------------------------------- >| Sender Policy Framework: http://www.openspf.org >[http://www.openspf.org] >| Modify Your Subscription: http://www.listbox.com/member/ >[http://www.listbox.com/member/] >| >| Archives: https://www.listbox.com/member/archive/1020/=now >| RSS Feed: https://www.listbox.com/member/archive/rss/1020/ >| Powered by Listbox: http://www.listbox.com >| >| > > >------------------------------------------- >Sender Policy Framework: http://www.openspf.org [http://www.openspf.org] >Modify Your Subscription: http://www.listbox.com/member/ [http://www.listbox.com/member/] > >Archives: https://www.listbox.com/member/archive/1020/=now >RSS Feed: https://www.listbox.com/member/archive/rss/1020/ >Powered by Listbox: http://www.listbox.com ------------------------------------------- Sender Policy Framework: http://www.openspf.org [http://www.openspf.org] Modify Your Subscription: http://www.listbox.com/member/ [http://www.listbox.com/member/] Archives: https://www.listbox.com/member/archive/1020/=now RSS Feed: https://www.listbox.com/member/archive/rss/1020/ Powered by Listbox: http://www.listbox.com
|