
spf.pobox at logicalsolutns
Mar 22, 2009, 5:45 PM
Post #8 of 13
(2004 views)
Permalink
|
I have requested a response from CBL about this. Based on what Tony has said, and depending on their response, I will stop using cbl and spamhaus. It is my understanding that Spamhaus funds CBL, and uses the CBL output as a basis for one of the Spamhaus rbls. While I also utilize dynamic ip rbl's, mixing the two is unacceptable. John. At 06:34 PM 3/22/2009, you wrote: >Sorry for the delay in replying > >A number of people think I made this up > >>From cbl [at] cbl I got this when I did contact them - it took a couple of contacts before they replied with the following (this was days before I posted my message here) > >----------------- >" What is going on here is that you are HELOing as something that looks like a dynamic assignment to us." >------------------ > >i.e. CBL stated that they considered that what they were seeing looked like a dynamic IP address (which it was not) > >So as they were telling me directly that this was what they are doing (as I said, nothing had changed in 2 years and suddenly the address was blacklisted) that is why I decided to share it. > >This was because I had spent two days billed to the client going through every machine in the place, installing packet sniffers all on the CBL assertions that "no matter how good your AV if you are getting blacklisted it means you are generating traffic". > >It was not conjecture, but fact from CBL response directly. > >In this case, there never had been anything - they are no looking at the HELO string and if they think it looks dynamic, they blacklist" > >This was not listed on their site (the rest of their message was suppressed because it listed reverse DSN configurations). > >I changed Exchange's FQDNS name and the problem went away (it doesn't matter or not whether you go direct or via the ISP's smart host, the result is the same). > >I just thought passing on the unpublished addition to how CBL is now blacklisting might save someone else 2 days digging to find that CBL have arbitrarily started making new decisions about what constitutes a rogue email server. > >Since the FQDN and what you put in your SPF string may have to be consistent, I thought it was relevant. > >As for plugging in your IP to CBL to find out why you got listed, in this case it was of now help and let me to a considerable wasted effort because I believed that their published list of reasons was correct. Unfortunately, it is only a partial list of reasons. > >The inferences you can draw from CBL's statement are > >1) They are looking at the HELO string, not just the IP >2) They are comparing it to various forms that they believe are indicative of dynamic addresses >3) Their understanding of reverse DNS is different from the ISPs as far as mail goes (On this one, I think their understanding is better that the ISP's, but when this was set up 2 years ago, I could only go on what the ISP recommended when we had been having trouble getting email through to AOL; following the ISP's recommendation at that time actually solved the AOL email problem) > >So thanks for the comments, but I had actually been through all of that first. > > >Tony Gore >email tony [at] aspen >tel +44-1278-761000 FAX +44-1278-760006 GSM +44-7768-598570 >URL: www.aspen.uk.com >Aspen Enterprises Limited >Registered in England and Wales no. 3055963 Reg.Office Aspen House, Burton Row, Brent Knoll, Somerset TA9 4BW. UK > > > >-----Original Message----- >From: Gino Cerullo [mailto:gcerullo [at] pixelpointstudios] >Sent: 18 March 2009 22:40 >To: spf-help [at] v2 >Subject: Re: [spf-help] May be off topic, but it is relevant > > >On 18-Mar-09, at 6:29 PM, John Blazek wrote: > >> I've had excellent communications with CBL staff on several occasions. >> >> If your IP is getting black listed by them, simply contact them via >> the methods on their website. >> >> I'm unaware of any policy by CBL to begin listing dynamimc IPs. >> >> http://cbl.abuseat.org/ >> >> You can also go to that website and plug in your IP and receive a >> status report as to if and why you got listed. >> >> >> John. >> >> At 04:55 PM 3/18/2009, you wrote: >>> On Wed, Mar 18, 2009 at 21:28, Tony Gore <tony [at] aspen> wrote: >>>> Dear all >>>> >>>> I recently spent several days trying to figure out why a customer >>>> was getting blacklisted on CBL after several years of unchanged >>>> configuration. >>>> >>>> It turned out that CBL have suddenly and arbitrarily decided to >>>> blacklist any mail server that answers with HELO that looks like a >>>> dynamic address, even if it is not. > > >As John alluded to...right from their home page, > >"The CBL does NOT care whether an IP is dynamic or not, if connections >the IP makes indicate that it's infected, it is listed regardless." > >Why don't you go to their site and enter your IP address and find out >if it is actually listed in the CBL and why. > >-- >Gino Cerullo > >Pixel Point Studios >21 Chesham Drive >Toronto, ON M3M 1W6 > >416-247-7740 > > > >------------------------------------------- >Sender Policy Framework: http://www.openspf.org >Modify Your Subscription: http://www.listbox.com/member/ >Archives: https://www.listbox.com/member/archive/1020/=now >RSS Feed: https://www.listbox.com/member/archive/rss/1020/ >Powered by Listbox: http://www.listbox.com > > >------------------------------------------- >Sender Policy Framework: http://www.openspf.org >Modify Your Subscription: http://www.listbox.com/member/ >Archives: https://www.listbox.com/member/archive/1020/=now >RSS Feed: https://www.listbox.com/member/archive/rss/1020/ >Powered by Listbox: http://www.listbox.com > >No virus found in this incoming message. >Checked by AVG - www.avg.com >Version: 8.0.238 / Virus Database: 270.11.23/2016 - Release Date: 03/21/09 17:58:00 ------------------------------------------- Sender Policy Framework: http://www.openspf.org Modify Your Subscription: http://www.listbox.com/member/ Archives: https://www.listbox.com/member/archive/1020/=now RSS Feed: https://www.listbox.com/member/archive/rss/1020/ Powered by Listbox: http://www.listbox.com
|