Login | Register For Free | Help
Search for: (Advanced)

Mailing List Archive: SPF: Help

Returned Message due to SPF records

 

 

SPF help RSS feed   Index | Next | Previous | View Threaded


nickd at rockman

May 5, 2008, 12:50 PM

Post #1 of 3 (432 views)
Permalink
Returned Message due to SPF records

I believe that I have my SPF records set up properly, and they were working
for this same email address, but now I get this message. I don't know how
to fix it because my SPF record says that it should allow this IP address.



Here is the Email I got sent back:



Reporting-MTA: dns; tomts35.bellnexxia.net

Arrival-Date: Mon, 5 May 2008 13:58:33 -0400

Received-From-MTA: dns; toip35-bus.srvr.bell.ca (67.69.240.36)



Final-Recipient: RFC822; <jmurley[at]kri-groupusa.com>

Action: failed

Status: 5.1.1

Remote-MTA: dns; mx2.focustsi.com (12.130.59.133)

Diagnostic-Code: smtp; 550 domain of michel[at]rockman.ca does not designate
209.226.175.109 as permitted sender







And here is my SPF record:



"v=spf1 ip4:67.68.0.0/14 ip4:209.226.0.0/16 a mx include:hm.sympatico.ca
include:bellnexxia.net include:hotmail.com include:sympatico.ca
include:bellnet.ca include:bellglobal.com include:qc.aira.com ?all"







Here is what openspf.org is telling me, which is why I believe it is set up
right:




ip4:209.226.0.0/16



Every host in the range 209.226.0.0-209.226.255.255 is allowed to send mail
from rockman.ca.





Does anybody know what the problem is?





Nick De Angelis



Rockman Transport

Tel: 514-422-1085 X225

Fax: 514-422-1083



-------------------------------------------
Sender Policy Framework: http://www.openspf.org
Modify Your Subscription: http://www.listbox.com/member/
Archives: http://www.listbox.com/member/archive/1020/=now
RSS Feed: http://www.listbox.com/member/archive/rss/1020/
Powered by Listbox: http://www.listbox.com


rob.macgregor at gmail

May 5, 2008, 1:51 PM

Post #2 of 3 (424 views)
Permalink
Re: Returned Message due to SPF records [In reply to]

On Mon, May 5, 2008 at 8:50 PM, Nick De Angelis <nickd[at]rockman.ca> wrote:
> I believe that I have my SPF records set up properly, and they were working
> for this same email address, but now I get this message. I don't know how
> to fix it because my SPF record says that it should allow this IP address.

If you'd run your record through the validator (see the Tools page)
you'd have seen:

Results - PermError SPF Permanent Error: No valid SPF record for
included domain: hm.sympatico.ca: include:hm.sympatico.ca

(Stripping that and some other stuff out)

Results - PermError SPF Permanent Error: No valid SPF record for
included domain: bellnet.ca: include:bellnet.ca

And then:

Results - PermError SPF Permanent Error: No valid SPF record for
included domain: bellglobal.com: include:bellglobal.com

Eventually the following doesn't error right now:

v=spf1 ip4:67.68.0.0/14 ip4:209.226.0.0/16 a mx include:bellnexxia.net
include:hotmail.com include:sympatico.ca include:qc.aira.com ?all

Be aware that you'd be better off replacing the "a mx" with
"ip4:209.44.114.90" as your MX is the same host that the A record
resolves to and this reduces the number of DNS lookups required (there
is a limit of 10).

--
Please keep list traffic on the list.

Rob MacGregor
Whoever fights monsters should see to it that in the process he
doesn't become a monster. Friedrich Nietzsche

-------------------------------------------
Sender Policy Framework: http://www.openspf.org
Modify Your Subscription: http://www.listbox.com/member/
Archives: http://www.listbox.com/member/archive/1020/=now
RSS Feed: http://www.listbox.com/member/archive/rss/1020/
Powered by Listbox: http://www.listbox.com


michael at breton

May 5, 2008, 1:57 PM

Post #3 of 3 (427 views)
Permalink
Re: Returned Message due to SPF records [In reply to]

Nick De Angelis wrote:
> I believe that I have my SPF records set up properly, and they were working
> for this same email address, but now I get this message. I don't know how
> to fix it because my SPF record says that it should allow this IP address.
>
>
>
> Here is the Email I got sent back:
>
>
>
> Reporting-MTA: dns; tomts35.bellnexxia.net
>
> Arrival-Date: Mon, 5 May 2008 13:58:33 -0400
>
> Received-From-MTA: dns; toip35-bus.srvr.bell.ca (67.69.240.36)
>
>
>
> Final-Recipient: RFC822; <jmurley[at]kri-groupusa.com>
>
> Action: failed
>
> Status: 5.1.1
>
> Remote-MTA: dns; mx2.focustsi.com (12.130.59.133)
>
> Diagnostic-Code: smtp; 550 domain of michel[at]rockman.ca does not designate
> 209.226.175.109 as permitted sender
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
> And here is my SPF record:
>
>
>
> "v=spf1 ip4:67.68.0.0/14 ip4:209.226.0.0/16 a mx include:hm.sympatico.ca
> include:bellnexxia.net include:hotmail.com include:sympatico.ca
> include:bellnet.ca include:bellglobal.com include:qc.aira.com ?all"
>
Well, after looking very quickly, your first "include:" statement is
invalid, because there is no SPF record for "hm.sympatico.ca". I also
do not see one for bellnet.ca or bellglobal.com. If you "include:", you
have to first make sure the SPF record exists for whatever you are
including.

Try fixing those and check the rest of your "include:" statements and
see how that goes.

Michael Breton

-------------------------------------------
Sender Policy Framework: http://www.openspf.org
Modify Your Subscription: http://www.listbox.com/member/
Archives: http://www.listbox.com/member/archive/1020/=now
RSS Feed: http://www.listbox.com/member/archive/rss/1020/
Powered by Listbox: http://www.listbox.com

SPF help RSS feed   Index | Next | Previous | View Threaded
 
 


Interested in having your list archived? Contact lists@gossamer-threads.com
 
  Web Applications & Managed Hosting Powered by Gossamer Threads Inc.