
gng at hassard
Jan 15, 2007, 10:55 AM
Post #28 of 40
(4696 views)
Permalink
|
Yes.. We use an anti-spam program that checks the reverse DNS for EVERY incoming e-mail and will fail the e-mail if it doesn't have one.. So, if you are sending mail from multiple servers as your SPF record indicates, then you will need a reverse DNS entry for each address... Even if you only have one Domain name for your email, I.e. mymail.com.. If you have multiple IP addresses that can send mail on behalf of that Domain, then each IP address should be resolved to that name.. I hope that makes sense. Graham -----Original Message----- From: eslbase [mailto:eslbase [at] eslbase] Sent: Monday, January 15, 2007 10:44 AM To: spf-help [at] v2 Subject: Re: [spf-help] SPF syntax correct? [sls][cty][faked-from] > You probably don't have a reverse DNS entry for your MX record... I > had the same problem with a couple of my Customers using XO communications.. > Some ant-spam programs will give you that exact error message if they > cannot resolve your mail address (name) back to an IP address. > > Graham Thanks Graham Here's what my DNS report says: OK. The IPs of all of your mail server(s) have reverse DNS (PTR) entries. RFC1912 2.1 says you should have a reverse DNS for all your mail servers. It is strongly urged that you have them, as many mailservers will not accept mail from mailservers with no reverse DNS entry. Note that this information is cached, so if you changed it recently, it will not be reflected here (see the www.DNSstuff.com Reverse DNS Tool for the current data). The reverse DNS entries are: 50.130.232.66.in-addr.arpa cmlapp01.csee.securepod.com. [TTL=7635] So it looks like my mail server has a reverse DNS - good. But do I also need one for all the IPs that I use to send mail? My SPF is "v=spf1 ip4:66.232.130.50 ip4:66.232.135.20 ip4:66.232.129.245 ip4:66.232.129.12 ip4:66.232.129.247 ip4:66.232.129.248 ip4:66.232.129.249 ip4:66.232.129.250 -all" ...so should I have reverse DNS entries for all those other ip4's? Many thanks, Keith >>> Thanks to all of you for your help - my host has finally changed my >>> SPF record to >>> >>> "v=spf1 ip4:66.232.130.50 ip4:66.232.135.20 ip4:66.232.129.245 >>> ip4:66.232.129.12 ip4:66.232.129.247 ip4:66.232.129.248 >>> ip4:66.232.129.249 ip4:66.232.129.250 -all" >>> >>> and this seems to be doing the trick. > > The number of bounces I'm getting now with this new SPF record has > almost completely disappeared. I'm experiencing a different problem > though - I'm not sure if it's relevant here - please tell me if it's > not. > > I sent a test email at emailreach.com and it was flagged by > SpamAssassin apparently because it was sent by a dynamic IP address (82.57.164.222). > I'm in Italy and using Outlook Express, so this is presumably an IP > address given to me by Telecom Italia. I was under the impression that > servers receiving email would ignore this, and only be interested in > 66.232.130.50, the IP of my domain. Am I missing something? If so, > how can I overcome this? > > Many thanks, Keith > > > ------- > Archives at http://archives.listbox.com/spf-help/current/ or > http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/spf/help/ (easier to search) To > unsubscribe, change your address, or temporarily deactivate your > subscription, please go to http://v2.listbox.com/member/?& > > ------- > Archives at http://archives.listbox.com/spf-help/current/ or > http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/spf/help/ (easier to search) To > unsubscribe, change your address, or temporarily deactivate your > subscription, please go to http://v2.listbox.com/member/?& > ------- Archives at http://archives.listbox.com/spf-help/current/ or http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/spf/help/ (easier to search) To unsubscribe, change your address, or temporarily deactivate your subscription, please go to http://v2.listbox.com/member/?& ------- Archives at http://archives.listbox.com/spf-help/current/ or http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/spf/help/ (easier to search) To unsubscribe, change your address, or temporarily deactivate your subscription, please go to http://v2.listbox.com/member/?member_id=1311530&user_secret=5f6145ca
|