Login | Register For Free | Help
Search for: (Advanced)

Mailing List Archive: SPF: Help

SPF Setup

 

 

SPF help RSS feed   Index | Next | Previous | View Threaded


dkramkow at optonline

Dec 2, 2004, 12:22 PM

Post #1 of 5 (817 views)
Permalink
SPF Setup

How do I set up an SPF record for my domains? I currently host two e-mail
domains on my Exchange server. The problem is my Exchange server's name is
(not using actual names) "server.privatedomain.com". My public domains are
"publicdomaina.com" and "publicdomainb.com". If I run a DNS report, it gives
me a warning about the mail server host name. I assume the SPF record will
"tell" any server that is verifying an e-mail that the server it is coming
from ("server.privatedomain.com") is a valid server



Input would be appreciated.



Thanks.

-------
Archives at http://archives.listbox.com/spf-help/current/
Donate! http://spf.pobox.com/donations.html
To unsubscribe, change your address, or temporarily deactivate your subscription,
please go to http://v2.listbox.com/member/?listname=spf-help[at]v2.listbox.com


bortzmeyer at nic

Dec 2, 2004, 12:35 PM

Post #2 of 5 (775 views)
Permalink
Re: SPF Setup [In reply to]

On Thu, Dec 02, 2004 at 02:22:08PM -0600,
David Kramkowski <dkramkow[at]optonline.net> wrote
a message of 21 lines which said:

> How do I set up an SPF record for my domains? I currently host two
> e-mail domains on my Exchange server. The problem is my Exchange
> server's name is (not using actual names)
> "server.privatedomain.com". My public domains are
> "publicdomaina.com" and "publicdomainb.com". If I run a DNS report,
> it gives me a warning about the mail server host name. I assume the
> SPF record will "tell" any server that is verifying an e-mail that
> the server it is coming from ("server.privatedomain.com") is a valid
> server

Yes, something like:

publicdomaina.com. IN TXT "v=spf1 a:server.privatedomain.com ~all"

should work.

Same thing for publicdomainb.com.

-------
Archives at http://archives.listbox.com/spf-help/current/
Donate! http://spf.pobox.com/donations.html
To unsubscribe, change your address, or temporarily deactivate your subscription,
please go to http://v2.listbox.com/member/?listname=spf-help[at]v2.listbox.com


rob.macgregor at gmail

Apr 9, 2008, 7:39 AM

Post #3 of 5 (289 views)
Permalink
Re: SPF Setup [In reply to]

On Wed, Apr 9, 2008 at 1:20 PM, Paul Fuller <pfuller[at]nlpplanning.com> wrote:
>
> I would like to setup Sender Policy Framework but would just like to confirm I have added the correct settings to the wizard. I have attached a screen grab of the first page of the wizard and below is an extract of a header file of a message sent from our domain.

The list strips attachments ;)

> X-Originating-IP: [217.150.114.196]
> X-SpamReason: No, hits=0.2 required=7.0 tests=HTML_MESSAGE,
> MIME_QP_LONG_LINE
> Received: (qmail 6104 invoked from network); 9 Apr 2008 09:18:18 -0000
> Received: from mailgate.nlpplanning.com (HELO mailgate.Lichfields.co.uk) (217.150.114.196)
> by server-7.tower-84.messagelabs.com with SMTP; 9 Apr 2008 09:18:18 -0000
> Received: from maillondon.Lichfields.co.uk ([10.0.0.206]) by mailgate.Lichfields.co.uk
> with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.3959); Wed, 9 Apr 2008 10:17:35 +0100
> X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft Exchange V6.5
> We have the IP Range 217.150.115.194 to 198 and the only sending mailserver is mailgate.nlpplanning.com (also know as mailgate.lichfields.co.uk)

Your SPF record should then look like:

v=spf1 ip4:217.150.114.196 -all

Plus a record for "mailgate.Lichfields.co.uk" (which is the name your
server uses as it's HELO value) that is also:

v=spf1 ip4:217.150.114.196 -all

> Also will I need to make any changes to our DNS Zone file on our ISP's servers ?? It currently has mailgate.nlpplanning.com listed with the correct IP address (A Record).

You will have to create a TXT record for the domain(s) in question,
plus one for mailgate.lichfields.co.uk, with the above records.

--
Please keep list traffic on the list.

Rob MacGregor
Whoever fights monsters should see to it that in the process he
doesn't become a monster. Friedrich Nietzsche

-------------------------------------------
Sender Policy Framework: http://www.openspf.org
Modify Your Subscription: http://www.listbox.com/member/
Archives: http://www.listbox.com/member/archive/1020/=now
RSS Feed: http://www.listbox.com/member/archive/rss/1020/
Powered by Listbox: http://www.listbox.com


bobt at daviscomms

Apr 9, 2008, 2:37 PM

Post #4 of 5 (286 views)
Permalink
Re: SPF Setup [In reply to]

Paul,

I see a good answer from Rob MacGregor, but I would like to add I don't
think your DNS provider (Demon.net) supports TXT records. You might want to
check with them. Scott Kittermain has a list:
http://www.kitterman.com/spf/txt.html

Regards

Bob Davis

----- Original Message -----
From: "Paul Fuller" <pfuller[at]nlpplanning.com>
To: <spf-help[at]v2.listbox.com>
Sent: Wednesday, April 09, 2008 5:20 AM
Subject: [spf-help] SPF Setup


Dear Sir/Madam

I would like to setup Sender Policy Framework but would just like to confirm
I have added the correct settings to the wizard. I have attached a screen
grab of the first page of the wizard and below is an extract of a header
file of a message sent from our domain.

X-Originating-IP: [217.150.114.196]
X-SpamReason: No, hits=0.2 required=7.0 tests=HTML_MESSAGE,
MIME_QP_LONG_LINE
Received: (qmail 6104 invoked from network); 9 Apr 2008 09:18:18 -0000
Received: from mailgate.nlpplanning.com (HELO mailgate.Lichfields.co.uk)
(217.150.114.196)
by server-7.tower-84.messagelabs.com with SMTP; 9 Apr 2008 09:18:18 -0000
Received: from maillondon.Lichfields.co.uk ([10.0.0.206]) by
mailgate.Lichfields.co.uk
with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.3959); Wed, 9 Apr 2008 10:17:35 +0100
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft Exchange V6.5
We have the IP Range 217.150.115.194 to 198 and the only sending mailserver
is mailgate.nlpplanning.com (also know as mailgate.lichfields.co.uk)

<<SPF.JPG>>

Also will I need to make any changes to our DNS Zone file on our ISP's
servers ?? It currently has mailgate.nlpplanning.com listed with the correct
IP address (A Record).

Regards
Paul

Paul Fuller
Nathaniel Lichfield and Partners
14 Regent's Wharf
All Saints Street
London
N1 9RL

Tel: 020 7837 4477
Fax: 020 7837 2277
Email: pfuller[at]nlpplanning.com

www.nlpplanning.com <http://www.nlpplanning.com/>

This email is for the use of the addressee. It may contain information which
is confidential and exempt from disclosure. If you are not the intended
recipient you must not copy, distribute or disseminate this email or
attachments to anyone other than the addressee. If you receive this
communication in error please advise us by telephone as soon as possible.
Nathaniel Lichfield & Partners Limited is registered in England, no.
2778116. Our registered office is at 14 Regent's Wharf, All Saints Street,
London N1 9RL.

P Think of the environment. Please avoid printing this e-mail unnecessarily.


-------------------------------------------
Sender Policy Framework: http://www.openspf.org
Modify Your Subscription: http://www.listbox.com/member/
Archives: http://www.listbox.com/member/archive/1020/=now
RSS Feed: http://www.listbox.com/member/archive/rss/1020/
Powered by Listbox: http://www.listbox.com

-------------------------------------------
Sender Policy Framework: http://www.openspf.org
Modify Your Subscription: http://www.listbox.com/member/
Archives: http://www.listbox.com/member/archive/1020/=now
RSS Feed: http://www.listbox.com/member/archive/rss/1020/
Powered by Listbox: http://www.listbox.com


Tony at aspen

Apr 12, 2008, 4:19 AM

Post #5 of 5 (280 views)
Permalink
RE: SPF Setup [In reply to]

Demon are my ISP and I have had an SPF record for some time now.

The downside is that they require a FAX on company headed paper in order to make DNS changes, so testing is a little difficult.

They also are extremely knowledgeable, if you ever get to talk to the guys who look after the DNS. They were able to enlighten me quite a lot on the issue of reverse DNS lookup (this came up in a recent post - if you look up the IP address of my server you get it resolving to adsl-.... i.e. what they allocate, which may be different to the domain you actually use. According to them, no-one actually uses reverse DNS being different to refuse mail. There was a suggestion that you set your mailserver to announce that it is adsl.... and put this in your SPF record as an allowable sender for your domain)


Tony Gore
email  tony[at]aspen.uk.com
tel +44-1278-761000  FAX +44-1278-760006  GSM +44-7768-598570
URL: www.aspen.uk.com
Aspen Enterprises Limited
Registered in England and Wales no. 3055963 Reg.Office Aspen House, Burton Row, Brent Knoll, Somerset TA9 4BW.  UK



-----Original Message-----
From: Bob Davis [mailto:bobt[at]daviscomms.com]
Sent: 09 April 2008 22:37
To: spf-help[at]v2.listbox.com
Subject: Re: [spf-help] SPF Setup

Paul,

I see a good answer from Rob MacGregor, but I would like to add I don't
think your DNS provider (Demon.net) supports TXT records. You might want to
check with them. Scott Kittermain has a list:
http://www.kitterman.com/spf/txt.html

Regards

Bob Davis
: http://www.listbox.com

-------------------------------------------
Sender Policy Framework: http://www.openspf.org
Modify Your Subscription: http://www.listbox.com/member/
Archives: http://www.listbox.com/member/archive/1020/=now
RSS Feed: http://www.listbox.com/member/archive/rss/1020/
Powered by Listbox: http://www.listbox.com

SPF help RSS feed   Index | Next | Previous | View Threaded
 
 


Interested in having your list archived? Contact lists@gossamer-threads.com
 
  Web Applications & Managed Hosting Powered by Gossamer Threads Inc.