
spfdiscuss at alandoherty
Oct 19, 2009, 10:28 AM
Post #3 of 4
(2332 views)
Permalink
|
|
Re: Mail sent from web application goes into hotmail’s INBOX, and from Outlook it goes to SPAM
[In reply to]
|
|
At 17:48 19/10/2009 Monday, Jeff wrote: >First of all, I would like to thank those who have responded and note that I >changed the title of the subject to reflect the latest situation. > >Please note that I can send email from a web application running on >compatibleweb.com, it is delivered to hotmail’s INBOX, but mail sent from >Outlook Express using smtp and pop servers as mail.compatibleweb.com still goes >into hotmail’s SPAM. > >I did notice that the email header info does differ within the two emails below: > >Message from web application (goes into hotmail’s INBOX): >http://mujer-nueva.com/images/stories/hotmail-problem/hotmail-inbox.txt > >Message from outlook express (goes into hotmail’s SPAM): >http://mujer-nueva.com/images/stories/hotmail-problem/hotmail-spambox.txt > > >Does the problem seem to be cause by an incorrect SPF record for >compatibleweb.com? Or can the problem be caused by incorrect Outlook Express >settings in its configuration? > >Thank you > > >P.S. Sandy, thank you for pointing out the syntax error which has now been >corrected. Alan, Outlook express is installed (for mail testing purposes) on >the webserver compatibleweb.com (IP 66.235.180.161), meaning that I am sending >the tests from that server. Also note that the IP nor the domains are on any >blacklist. We simply do not spam and are against it. ok first as far as where the outlook is installed as far as spf is concerned is irrelevant SPF cares only about the mailserver handing off to the person checking SPF so looking at the outlook headers as they came to me direct {the webapp on has never arrived?} try sending from webapp to alternate address of gothic.ie [at] gmail or give me its envelope from and i'll grep the logs in case it failed some unrelated test Received: from compatibleweb.com ([66.235.180.161] helo=mail.compatibleweb.com) by bigsvr.alandoherty.net with smtp (Exim 4.69) (envelope-from <usario2427 [at] compatibleweb>) id 1Mzvfv-0008Uh-Ke for spfdiscuss [at] alandoherty; Mon, 19 Oct 2009 17:05:41 +0000 my own server added the following tracking headers X-AD-RPFS-HEAD: for info on below codes http://www.alandoherty.net/mailsystem/mail-tagging/ X-AD-RPFS-DUMB-0: HELO-SPF-NONE HELO-CSA-NONE meaning your HELO/EHLO identity of mail.compatibleweb.com has no SPF record {not a major concern for most, but a major plus MTA-reputability wise for those checking it} if you can encourage them to add "v=spf1 A -ALL" to say helo's are valid from this ip and "v=spf1 -all" to all non-used-for-mail domains like www.compatible... ie invalid in helo or following an @ X-AD-RPFS-INFO-0: IP-DNS-PTR-A-PASS [IP=66.235.180.161 NAME(S)=compatibleweb.com FQRDNS-NAME=compatibleweb.com] IP-CC-US HELO-DNS-PASS HELO=mail.compatibleweb.com the ptr and A match which is good {though ptr being a domain is non-optimal} and helo resolves to same IP which is good {better than facebooks servers} X-AD-RPFS-GOOD-0: ES-SPF-PASS AV-SCAN-PASS SA-SCORE-0.0 SA-BAR-(/) and envelope-sender passed spf perfectly feel free to poke me via IM to look at why the webapp one never came through or do some interactive debugging http://www.alandoherty.net/contact/ I assume publishing here the results {if any} for others is ok?} ------------------------------------------- Sender Policy Framework: http://www.openspf.org [http://www.openspf.org] Modify Your Subscription: http://www.listbox.com/member/ [http://www.listbox.com/member/] Archives: https://www.listbox.com/member/archive/735/=now RSS Feed: https://www.listbox.com/member/archive/rss/735/ Powered by Listbox: http://www.listbox.com
|