Login | Register For Free | Help
Search for: (Advanced)

Mailing List Archive: SpamAssassin: users

Blocking multiple "From" headers

 

 

SpamAssassin users RSS feed   Index | Next | Previous | View Threaded


mysqlstudent at gmail

Jul 2, 2012, 5:37 PM

Post #1 of 5 (371 views)
Permalink
Blocking multiple "From" headers

Hi,

I have a spamassassin-3.3.2 on fc15 with postfix-2.8 and amavisd-2.6,
and can't figure out how this message with multiple From: headers is
making it through:

http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=sRpJn8qn

The From and To addresses are the same, with multiple From users.
Should I be blocking this with postfix? I was surprised there wasn't
an existing rule for this..

I otherwise don't see any other possible ideas for blocking these, so
any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Alex


jhardin at impsec

Jul 2, 2012, 6:00 PM

Post #2 of 5 (364 views)
Permalink
Re: Blocking multiple "From" headers [In reply to]

On Mon, 2 Jul 2012, Alex wrote:

> I have a spamassassin-3.3.2 on fc15 with postfix-2.8 and amavisd-2.6,
> and can't figure out how this message with multiple From: headers is
> making it through:
>
> http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=sRpJn8qn
>
> The From and To addresses are the same, with multiple From users.
> Should I be blocking this with postfix? I was surprised there wasn't
> an existing rule for this..
>
> I otherwise don't see any other possible ideas for blocking these, so
> any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Off the top of my head:

header MANY_FROM From =~ />,/

I don't see anything for this in the standard rules. There's a
T_FROM_2_EMAILS in khopesh's sandbox, but it looks like there's not enough
in the corpus to promote it.

There was some discussion of this a few weeks back, you might search the
recent archives for "reply_to". One thing that discussion brought up was
that this is apparently valid under RFC2822.

--
John Hardin KA7OHZ http://www.impsec.org/~jhardin/
jhardin [at] impsec FALaholic #11174 pgpk -a jhardin [at] impsec
key: 0xB8732E79 -- 2D8C 34F4 6411 F507 136C AF76 D822 E6E6 B873 2E79
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
WSJ on the Financial Stimulus package: "...today there are 700,000
fewer jobs than [the administration] predicted we would have if we
had done nothing at all."
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
2 days until the 236th anniversary of the Declaration of Independence


me at junc

Jul 2, 2012, 9:42 PM

Post #3 of 5 (361 views)
Permalink
Re: Blocking multiple "From" headers [In reply to]

Den 2012-07-03 02:37, Alex skrev:

> http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=sRpJn8qn
>
> The From and To addresses are the same, with multiple From users.
> Should I be blocking this with postfix? I was surprised there wasn't
> an existing rule for this..

in postfix:

# cat /etc/postfix/sender_access
.oostrozebeke.com REJECT
oostrozebeke.com REJECT

postmap sender_access

# cat /etc/postfix/main.cf
# add sender_access to sender_restrictions

spammers is so smart that a dog can't block them, but remember multiple
from is rfc valid, that does not include multiple
envelope_sender_address


me at junc

Jul 2, 2012, 9:47 PM

Post #4 of 5 (360 views)
Permalink
Re: Blocking multiple "From" headers [In reply to]

Den 2012-07-03 03:00, John Hardin skrev:

> There was some discussion of this a few weeks back, you might search
> the recent archives for "reply_to". One thing that discussion brought
> up was that this is apparently valid under RFC2822.

i have a perl module created that checks envelope_senders with from
header, if match its ok, if differing and not sent from an maillist it
gives possitive score, if some devs people want to test it for me and
possible un perl module it so it will not need an perl plugin then let
me know


mysqlstudent at gmail

Jul 3, 2012, 12:55 PM

Post #5 of 5 (355 views)
Permalink
Re: Blocking multiple "From" headers [In reply to]

Hi,

>> http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=sRpJn8qn
>>
>> The From and To addresses are the same, with multiple From users.
>> Should I be blocking this with postfix? I was surprised there wasn't
>> an existing rule for this..
>
> in postfix:
>
> # cat /etc/postfix/sender_access
> .oostrozebeke.com REJECT
> oostrozebeke.com REJECT

Yeah, that's what I've done for the time being. It hasn't been enough
of an issue to warrant a plugin, thankfully. I hadn't realized it was
valid SMTP.

Thanks for everyone's help.
Alex

SpamAssassin users RSS feed   Index | Next | Previous | View Threaded
 
 


Interested in having your list archived? Contact Gossamer Threads
 
  Web Applications & Managed Hosting Powered by Gossamer Threads Inc.