
stucki at mi
Nov 27, 2009, 3:11 AM
Post #6 of 6
(512 views)
Permalink
|
|
Re: Problems sending Abuse mails to Twitter
[In reply to]
|
|
On Thu, 26 Nov 2009, Ralph Bornefeld-Ettmann wrote: > I could find your IP (82.113.106.21) on these lists : > ... ... ... > > IP of your server (62.231.42.10) I found on these lists : > > blocked.secnap.net 127.0.0.2 > countries.nerd.dk 127.0.0.1 > ips.backscatterer.org 127.0.0.2 Being 'suddenly rbl'ed seems also to happen if you create (mostly unknowing) lots of backscatter. So if your server was hit by a wave of bounces for a (faked) sender who FORWARDS AWAY from your server to e.g. google, hotmail, web.de ... Your server looks like a backscatter generator itself and the big hostes block it. We had this a few times already - (university scenario, lots of usrs forwarding their mail 'home', i.e. freehosters)´so some students addresses were abused as senders, backscatter begun streaming in, forwarded to hotmail (gogle, whatever), and they blacklisted us for 24h or even days. A while we had an (on ~4h / off 24h -- repeat at inf)-Scenario because during '24h-blocks the mail waited, then reenabled, then was seen as 'flooding' - blocked again 24h ... AND during these times we were definitely blocked from any electronic contact to the company - and of course no Phone Number given except 'User Support' (who does not even know, what an MTA might be). So dont' wonder, and may be don't forward fo a while (asking students to NOT forward did help - implementig one of tbe schemes to ALWAYS only send our OWN addresses even when forwarding, would have been better, but that's a completely different story) Stucki -- Christoph von Stuckrad * * |nickname |Mail <stucki [at] mi> \ Freie Universitaet Berlin |/_*|'stucki' |Tel(Mo.,Mi.):+49 30 838-75 459| Mathematik & Informatik EDV |\ *|if online| (Di,Do,Fr):+49 30 77 39 6600| Takustr. 9 / 14195 Berlin * * |on IRCnet|Fax(home): +49 30 77 39 6601/
|