Login | Register For Free | Help
Search for: (Advanced)

Mailing List Archive: SpamAssassin: users

VBounce FP

 

 

SpamAssassin users RSS feed   Index | Next | Previous | View Threaded


topher at thehundredacre

May 16, 2008, 11:45 AM

Post #1 of 9 (414 views)
Permalink
VBounce FP

The message at <http://pastebin.com/m42c297fd>[1] hit
ANY_BOUNCE_MESSAGE and BOUNCE_MESSAGE despite the host that sent
it (mailgw02.wolfnettech.com) being listed in my
whitelist_bounce_relays. What might I have (?:missed|not
understood) about VBounce?


[1] The portion of the message that shows the original (bounced)
message was blocked by pastebin as spam, so I've posted just the
headers and body of the bounce message.

--
Christopher Bort
<topher[at]thehundredacre.net>
<http://www.thehundredacre.net/>


stefan.jakobs at rus

May 16, 2008, 12:56 PM

Post #2 of 9 (402 views)
Permalink
Re: VBounce FP [In reply to]

On Friday 16 May 2008 20:45, Christopher Bort wrote:
> The message at <http://pastebin.com/m42c297fd>[1] hit
> ANY_BOUNCE_MESSAGE and BOUNCE_MESSAGE despite the host that sent
> it (mailgw02.wolfnettech.com) being listed in my
> whitelist_bounce_relays. What might I have (?:missed|not
> understood) about VBounce?

see: https://issues.apache.org/SpamAssassin/show_bug.cgi?id=5884

Greetings
Stefan


stefan.jakobs at rus

May 16, 2008, 3:17 PM

Post #3 of 9 (401 views)
Permalink
Re: VBounce FP [In reply to]

On Friday 16 May 2008 22:33, you wrote:
> On 05/16/08 12:56, stefan.jakobs[at]rus.uni-stuttgart.de (Stefan
>
> Jakobs) wrote:
> >On Friday 16 May 2008 20:45, Christopher Bort wrote:
> >>The message at <http://pastebin.com/m42c297fd>[1] hit
> >>ANY_BOUNCE_MESSAGE and BOUNCE_MESSAGE despite the host that sent
> >>it (mailgw02.wolfnettech.com) being listed in my
> >>whitelist_bounce_relays. What might I have (?:missed|not
> >>understood) about VBounce?
> >
> >see: https://issues.apache.org/SpamAssassin/show_bug.cgi?id=5884
>
> OK... Maybe I'm dense (not unlikely), but how does that apply
> here? My message is not an out-of-office reply and it has more
> than one received header. It's not locally generated, but was
> generated by a whitelisted relay host. The bounced message was
> generated by a web form with a sender address in my domain. The
> web site with the form is hosted for my employer by
> wolfnettech.com and the sender address's domain
> (homesmagazine.com) is handled by our mail server
> (mail.homes-magazine.com).

Actually, I'm not sure but in my expirence will spamassassin skip some
received headers. Maybe not in your example. The link was a hint and IMO it's
not worth to try the solotion it's presenting.

Greetings
Stefan

PS: Please keep replies on list, so that other people can help, too.


jm at jmason

May 17, 2008, 1:11 AM

Post #4 of 9 (394 views)
Permalink
Re: VBounce FP [In reply to]

Stefan Jakobs writes:
> On Friday 16 May 2008 20:45, Christopher Bort wrote:
> > The message at <http://pastebin.com/m42c297fd>[1] hit
> > ANY_BOUNCE_MESSAGE and BOUNCE_MESSAGE despite the host that sent
> > it (mailgw02.wolfnettech.com) being listed in my
> > whitelist_bounce_relays. What might I have (?:missed|not
> > understood) about VBounce?

Christopher --

what are your whitelist_bounce_relays, trusted_networks and
internal_networks set to?

--j.


topher at thehundredacre

May 17, 2008, 11:05 PM

Post #5 of 9 (382 views)
Permalink
Re: VBounce FP [In reply to]

On 05/17/08 01:11, jm[at]jmason.org (Justin Mason) wrote:

> Stefan Jakobs writes:
> > On Friday 16 May 2008 20:45, Christopher Bort wrote:
> > > The message at <http://pastebin.com/m42c297fd>[1] hit
> > > ANY_BOUNCE_MESSAGE and BOUNCE_MESSAGE despite the host that sent
> > > it (mailgw02.wolfnettech.com) being listed in my
> > > whitelist_bounce_relays. What might I have (?:missed|not
> > > understood) about VBounce?
>
> Christopher --
>
> what are your whitelist_bounce_relays, trusted_networks and
> internal_networks set to?

whitelist_bounce_relays mail.homes-magazine.com
whitelist_bounce_relays mailgw02.wolfnettech.com
whitelist_bounce_relays levit.reacheach1.com
whitelist_bounce_relays smtp*.blackberry.com
whitelist_bounce_relays *.tcsn.net

trusted_networks 66.224.197.128/27
internal_networks 66.224.197.156
internal_networks 66.224.197.130

--
Christopher Bort
<topher[at]thehundredacre.net>
<http://www.thehundredacre.net/>


jm at jmason

May 19, 2008, 3:53 AM

Post #6 of 9 (366 views)
Permalink
Re: VBounce FP [In reply to]

Christopher Bort writes:
> On 05/17/08 01:11, jm[at]jmason.org (Justin Mason) wrote:
>
> > Stefan Jakobs writes:
> > > On Friday 16 May 2008 20:45, Christopher Bort wrote:
> > > > The message at <http://pastebin.com/m42c297fd>[1] hit
> > > > ANY_BOUNCE_MESSAGE and BOUNCE_MESSAGE despite the host that sent
> > > > it (mailgw02.wolfnettech.com) being listed in my
> > > > whitelist_bounce_relays. What might I have (?:missed|not
> > > > understood) about VBounce?
> >
> > Christopher --
> >
> > what are your whitelist_bounce_relays, trusted_networks and
> > internal_networks set to?
>
> whitelist_bounce_relays mail.homes-magazine.com
> whitelist_bounce_relays mailgw02.wolfnettech.com
> whitelist_bounce_relays levit.reacheach1.com
> whitelist_bounce_relays smtp*.blackberry.com
> whitelist_bounce_relays *.tcsn.net
>
> trusted_networks 66.224.197.128/27
> internal_networks 66.224.197.156
> internal_networks 66.224.197.130

the sample doesn't fire those rules. I presume it's incomplete --
it seems to be missing hte bounced message part, which is key!

Can you share a complete sample that displays the problem?

--j.


topher at thehundredacre

May 19, 2008, 2:44 PM

Post #7 of 9 (357 views)
Permalink
Re: VBounce FP [In reply to]

On 05/19/08 03:53, jm[at]jmason.org (Justin Mason) wrote:

>Christopher Bort writes:
>>On 05/17/08 01:11, jm[at]jmason.org (Justin Mason) wrote:
>>
>>>Stefan Jakobs writes:
>>>>On Friday 16 May 2008 20:45, Christopher Bort wrote:
>>>>>The message at <http://pastebin.com/m42c297fd>[1] hit
>>>>>ANY_BOUNCE_MESSAGE and BOUNCE_MESSAGE despite the host that sent
>>>>>it (mailgw02.wolfnettech.com) being listed in my
>>>>>whitelist_bounce_relays. What might I have (?:missed|not
>>>>>understood) about VBounce?
>>>
>>>Christopher --
>>>
>>>what are your whitelist_bounce_relays, trusted_networks and
>>>internal_networks set to?
>>
>>whitelist_bounce_relays mail.homes-magazine.com
>>whitelist_bounce_relays mailgw02.wolfnettech.com
>>whitelist_bounce_relays levit.reacheach1.com
>>whitelist_bounce_relays smtp*.blackberry.com
>>whitelist_bounce_relays *.tcsn.net
>>
>>trusted_networks 66.224.197.128/27
>>internal_networks 66.224.197.156
>>internal_networks 66.224.197.130
>
>the sample doesn't fire those rules. I presume it's incomplete --
>it seems to be missing hte bounced message part, which is key!

Yes. As stated in my original message, pastebin blocked the
complete message as spam, so I posted it without the bounced
message part.

>Can you share a complete sample that displays the problem?

Attached.

--
Christopher Bort
<topher[at]thehundredacre.net>
<http://www.thehundredacre.net/>
Attachments: Undelivered_Mail_Returned_to_Sender (5.41 KB)


jm at jmason

May 19, 2008, 3:16 PM

Post #8 of 9 (357 views)
Permalink
Re: VBounce FP [In reply to]

Christopher Bort writes:
> On 05/19/08 03:53, jm[at]jmason.org (Justin Mason) wrote:
>
> >Christopher Bort writes:
> >>On 05/17/08 01:11, jm[at]jmason.org (Justin Mason) wrote:
> >>
> >>>Stefan Jakobs writes:
> >>>>On Friday 16 May 2008 20:45, Christopher Bort wrote:
> >>>>>The message at <http://pastebin.com/m42c297fd>[1] hit
> >>>>>ANY_BOUNCE_MESSAGE and BOUNCE_MESSAGE despite the host that sent
> >>>>>it (mailgw02.wolfnettech.com) being listed in my
> >>>>>whitelist_bounce_relays. What might I have (?:missed|not
> >>>>>understood) about VBounce?
> >>>
> >>>Christopher --
> >>>
> >>>what are your whitelist_bounce_relays, trusted_networks and
> >>>internal_networks set to?
> >>
> >>whitelist_bounce_relays mail.homes-magazine.com
> >>whitelist_bounce_relays mailgw02.wolfnettech.com
> >>whitelist_bounce_relays levit.reacheach1.com
> >>whitelist_bounce_relays smtp*.blackberry.com
> >>whitelist_bounce_relays *.tcsn.net
> >>
> >>trusted_networks 66.224.197.128/27
> >>internal_networks 66.224.197.156
> >>internal_networks 66.224.197.130
> >
> >the sample doesn't fire those rules. I presume it's incomplete --
> >it seems to be missing hte bounced message part, which is key!
>
> Yes. As stated in my original message, pastebin blocked the
> complete message as spam, so I posted it without the bounced
> message part.
>
> >Can you share a complete sample that displays the problem?
>
> Attached.

Thanks -- it looks like a bug. I've opened
https://issues.apache.org/SpamAssassin/show_bug.cgi?id=5912 for it.

--j.


topher at thehundredacre

May 19, 2008, 3:47 PM

Post #9 of 9 (356 views)
Permalink
Re: VBounce FP [In reply to]

On 05/19/08 15:16, jm[at]jmason.org (Justin Mason) wrote:

>>>Can you share a complete sample that displays the problem?
>>
>>Attached.
>
>Thanks -- it looks like a bug. I've opened
>https://issues.apache.org/SpamAssassin/show_bug.cgi?id=5912 for it.

Thank you, I look forward to its resolution. 8^)

--
Christopher Bort
<topher[at]thehundredacre.net>
<http://www.thehundredacre.net/>

SpamAssassin users RSS feed   Index | Next | Previous | View Threaded
 
 


Interested in having your list archived? Contact lists@gossamer-threads.com
 
  Web Applications & Managed Hosting Powered by Gossamer Threads Inc.