
noc.akrino at gmail
Nov 6, 2009, 5:39 PM
Post #1 of 1
(50 views)
Permalink
|
|
Fwd: Interesting Point of view - Russian police and RIPE accused of aiding RBN
|
|
---------- Forwarded message ---------- From: noc acrino <noc.akrino[at]gmail.com> Date: 2009/11/6 Subject: Re: Interesting Point of view - Russian police and RIPE accused of aiding RBN To: Jeffrey Lyon <jeffrey.lyon[at]blacklotus.net> Thanks for the quick answer, Jeffrey. 2009/11/6 Jeffrey Lyon <jeffrey.lyon[at]blacklotus.net> Kanak, > > It's good to see you here. The primary issue is that we receive a fair > deal of customers who end up with wide scale DDoS attacks followed by > an offer for "protection" to move to your network. In almost every > case the attacks cease once the customer has agreed to pay this > "protection" fee. Every one of these attacks was nearly identical in > signature. > > I would be very grateful if you provide the history of those communications - in fact we have never organized the DDoS-attacks ourselves, it's just nonsense. Our AS is ready for any public testing to see what we are really doing. I realize the fact that none of the normal network operators have any instruments to organize a heavy DDoS-attack but a single web-engineer can test any web-server in our network to see the algorithms of traffic analyzing and attacks mitigation. > A couple of years back we followed up on this and a handful of trusted > security analysts who focus on RBN alleged that Akrino was an RBN > shill network thus prompting the spawn of this article: > > http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/9063418/Russian_hosting_network_running_a_protection_racket_researcher_says > . > I'm sorry, in this article there's no concrete reference to Akrino Networks. And no evidence that we're affiliated. I would ask any person of the maillist to check the domain history (for example, using domaintools.com) to see whether the A-records of those domains (for example, TheCanadianMeds.com and OfficialMedicines.com) have ever been bind to Akrino Networks. I must buy some extra service units to make this kind of report - if you wait I'll be ready in a few days. And anyway this also won't be a proof of evidence - the malefactor could do this binding specially but we have never served these A-records. I'd be grateful if you show any current problems concerning this AS, let's investigate the issue together. We not long ago closed a number of spam sources within our networks (yes, there really were a few problem clents) in collaboration with the Spamhaus team and we are always ready to help our colleagues if there's a need to. > Since first seeing your network arise in early 2008 i've never > actually seen anyone claim to own it and a Google search for your name > and ASN were completely devoid of any useful information. The ASN and > IP assignment are registered to a BVI offshore corporation that based > on my research do not seem to correlate to any legitimate commercial > activity. All of these things seem to support the Computerworld > article. > > And as I've already mentioned, we're forced to hide because of the personal security. ( We can provide the documents concerning our activity only after an official request obligating the requesting organization to keep this data privately. Why have I written only now? I've discovered this claim now by chance and have been greatly disappointed. Now I have to prove that Akrino Networks has nothing to do with RBN and I can't even imagine a more comical and at the same time weird situation. > I would love to be proven wrong on this issue as I do not like to see > a good net op ostracized without just cause. Perhaps your reseller(s) > are giving you a bad name? Either way I would love to chat, feel free > to Skype: blacklotus.net . > > Thank you for this proposition, I'll contact you tomorrow. Kanak Akrino Abuse Team
|