david at justatheory
May 15, 2012, 7:11 PM
Post #10 of 11
On May 15, 2012, at 7:05 PM, Phillip Smith wrote:
Re: Accidentally checkout out a story to the wrong workflow. Way to prevent this?
[In reply to]
>> Define “get suck.” If you have ALLOW_WORKFLOW_TRANSFER, then if you have a desk that is in two workflows, you can move it to that desk in one wf, switch to the other, and move it to a different desk. That's the only “feature.”
> I don't think that's the case here:
> A) ALLOW_WORKFLOW_TRANSFER = No
> B) One desk is Edit and the other is Blog Edit, so I don't see how they can be shared.
Right, because they are not the same desk. You are not taking advantage of the feature.
> As far as I can tell, the issue is that when the user has clicked on Search in the Blog workflow, they i) see stories that are not in the workflow in the results and ii) there is a checkbox for "Checkout" that results in the story being checked out of the Story workflow, and into the Blog workflow.
> I just can't get my head around how that is a correct / intended behaviour… what's the use case for it?
Yes, it is a feature. Whether or not one can check a story into one workflow or another is dependent on the use case. Usually a user has access to only one workflow, so it's not an issue. But if they don't, they have to pay attention to which workflow they check it out into.
Check a story out into the wrong workflow? Check it in and shelve it, then switch to the other workflow, search for it, and check it out there.