bryancarney at gmail
May 10, 2012, 7:34 AM
We encounter this & fix it with a check in and shelve, too. If you have
Re: Accidentally checkout out a story to the wrong workflow. Way to prevent this?
[In reply to]
access to the story log you can see which flow it was in last. Maybe
removing access to the other workflows on user/group level would prevent
from accidentally searching & checking out there?
On Thu, May 10, 2012 at 7:31 AM, Nick Legg III <leggn [at] denison> wrote:
> Hi Phillip,
> On Wed, May 9, 2012 at 6:59 PM, Phillip Smith <ps [at] phillipadsmith>
> > I don't think this is a feature, as it's very confusion to users who then
> > lose control of the story. To correct the issue, I have to update the
> > database to move the story back into the Story workflow.
> > Should this be happening? Any suggestions on a way to prevent it, either
> > in the UI, the application code, or the database?
> This issue has plagued us since I can remember. We have well over 100
> workflows (a Story and Media workflow for every academic department and
> university office... yeah) and users who have access to multiple workflows
> (e.g. First Year Studies and Student Affairs) often "lose" stories for
> other users (e.g. someone who has First Year Studies but *not* Student
> Affairs) by getting them caught in the wrong workflow or between workflows.
> You can fix each instance of this in the database, but I think a Check In &
> Shelve does just as well. Aside from that, I don't really have a good
> solution for this yet.