Gossamer Forum
Home : General : Internet Technologies :

Paypal ... duh!

Quote Reply
Paypal ... duh!
Did anyone else get an email telling them to goto a given URL (which showed correctly, but just pointed to their root URL).

They ask you to validate your account... but I can't see the link. Anyone else got this problem? I just spent the last 30 minutes looking for the correct page, and I still can't :(

The email appears to be genuine, and points to the real PP site.

TIA

Andy (mod)
andy@ultranerds.co.uk


IMPORTANT: I've now moved to ultranerds.co.uk, and the .com will no longer work!
Want to give me something back for my help? Please see my Amazon Wish List
GLinks ULTRA Package (plugins total "value" $3,325 & rising, for just $350)| GLinks ULTRA Package PRO (plugins total "value" $5,625 & rising, for just $500)
Support Forum | Links SQL Plugins | DMOZ Dumps | UltraNerds | ULTRAGLobals Plugin | Pre-Made Template Sets | FREE GLinks Plugins!
Compare our different Plugin packages *new* Free CSS Templates
Quote Reply
Re: [Andy] Paypal ... duh! In reply to
Not me. What is the URL, and can you quote the email? Sounds phishy.

----
Cheers,

Dan
Principal

Virtual Solutions
Quote Reply
Re: [dan] Paypal ... duh! In reply to
Yeah, just got another one :/

Here's the headers;

Quote:
X-Gmail-Received: aa62e4908b987ce4014619c004bc7e3c5bd5649b
Delivered-To: andy.newby@gmail.com
Received: by 10.54.18.45 with SMTP id 45cs17282wrr;
Fri, 7 Jan 2005 01:58:31 -0800 (PST)
Received: by 10.54.20.27 with SMTP id 27mr601941wrt;
Fri, 07 Jan 2005 01:58:31 -0800 (PST)
Return-Path: <service@paypal.com>
Received: from east.nmsrv.com (east.nmsrv.com [64.69.64.30])
by mx.gmail.com with ESMTP id 67si766007wra.2005.01.07.01.58.30;
Fri, 07 Jan 2005 01:58:31 -0800 (PST)
Received-SPF: softfail (gmail.com: domain of transitioning service@paypal.com does not designate 64.69.64.30 as permitted sender)
Received: (qmail 14100 invoked by uid 1002); 7 Jan 2005 09:58:12 -0000
X-AntiVirus: Clean
Delivered-To: webmaster@ace-installer.com
Received: (qmail 22051 invoked from network); 7 Jan 2005 09:58:10 -0000
X-AntiVirus: Clean
Received: from unknown (HELO paisa-dnplcr75z) (69.140.19.142)
by east.nmsrv.com with SMTP; 7 Jan 2005 09:57:57 -0000
From: "service@paypal.com" <service@paypal.com>
Subject: Notification of PayPal Limited Account Access
To: webmaster@ace-installer.com
Content-Type: text/html;iso-8859-1
Reply-To: service@paypal.com
Date: Fri, 7 Jan 2005 04:56:55 -0800
X-Priority: 1
X-Library: Indy 8.0.25

Mmmm...

Andy (mod)
andy@ultranerds.co.uk


IMPORTANT: I've now moved to ultranerds.co.uk, and the .com will no longer work!
Want to give me something back for my help? Please see my Amazon Wish List
GLinks ULTRA Package (plugins total "value" $3,325 & rising, for just $350)| GLinks ULTRA Package PRO (plugins total "value" $5,625 & rising, for just $500)
Support Forum | Links SQL Plugins | DMOZ Dumps | UltraNerds | ULTRAGLobals Plugin | Pre-Made Template Sets | FREE GLinks Plugins!
Compare our different Plugin packages *new* Free CSS Templates
Quote Reply
Re: [Andy] Paypal ... duh! In reply to
do a tracert and see what this comes out to:
69.140.19.142

Looks to me like this is where it originated from (but these headers always make my vision blurry). Crazy
Quote Reply
Re: [Watts] Paypal ... duh! In reply to
Quote:
(but these headers always make my vision blurry).
Try going to spamcop.net and paste in the full headers. It does a thorough analysis and gives you the proper email addresses.

Cheers,

Alex
--
Gossamer Threads Inc.
Quote Reply
Re: [Alex] Paypal ... duh! In reply to
Hi,

Turned out it was invalid. It was sent to my gmail.com account, so I just clicked on "view original", and it showed me the headers and HTML code <G> I then just looked at the link area, and it seems that the use a window.status javascript effect, and then redirect to a totally non-paypal directed site. So many people must fall for these kind of scams :/

Cheers

Andy (mod)
andy@ultranerds.co.uk


IMPORTANT: I've now moved to ultranerds.co.uk, and the .com will no longer work!
Want to give me something back for my help? Please see my Amazon Wish List
GLinks ULTRA Package (plugins total "value" $3,325 & rising, for just $350)| GLinks ULTRA Package PRO (plugins total "value" $5,625 & rising, for just $500)
Support Forum | Links SQL Plugins | DMOZ Dumps | UltraNerds | ULTRAGLobals Plugin | Pre-Made Template Sets | FREE GLinks Plugins!
Compare our different Plugin packages *new* Free CSS Templates